The Other Card

I mentioned for yesterday’s card that I was using a card layout from a British magazine, but had a hard time using it. Today’s card is actually the first one I made using that layout. In the original card, they had a silhouette of a bird on a branch. I tried to reproduce it, but our bird punch is a bit too big for a 5×5 card (the biggest square envelope that we sell). Oh well.

I wasn’t really dead set on using a bird image, but then I remembered I had one of the level 2 hostess sets, Cute by the Inch. Now, I was able to finish up my card.

Stamp set: Cute by the Inch (Hostess, level 2), Flight of the Butterfly

Ink: Early Espresso, Pretty in Pink

Paper: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Whisper White, Early Espresso, Subtles Patterns DSP Stack

Accessories: Scallop square punch, Early Espresso taffeta ribbon, Stampin’ dimensionals

I like the addition of the stamped butterflies on the right hand side. Adds some movement to the card design, as well as filling out the card. It’s also still a bit subtle, so it doesn’t take away from the stamped sentiment. I actually got this idea from the Occasions Mini catalog (see the top card on page 29). I didn’t make the same card design, but took an idea to use. See, the Mini Catalogs are for more than just shopping. šŸ™‚

If you want more of the Pretty in Pink or Real Red Patterns DSP (more than what’s in the color family stack), Stampin’ Up! announced that the Love Patterns DSP pack will remain available until February 14! You get 3 sheets of both designs in both colors (for a total of 12 sheets). Yippee! I may have to stock up! Also, the Filled with Love stamp set from the Holiday Mini catalog will remain available until February 14…

Oh, and if you’ve noticed that I haven’t showed you a picture of the advertisement so you can see the original card layout for yourself… it’s because it spawned another card for which I’m saving for later! I like it so much… I’m thinking of using it for a workshop. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

