February Project

Here’s the project that is included in the February newsletter. What happened to January, you ask? I am asking the same thing!! I still haven’t figured out a good rhythm at home with respect to getting home, cooking dinner, other chores, and getting in some stamping! When I have the occasional 3-day weekend, I hope inspiration hits and I take what I can get! You would think I would have figured out a system by now, but after a few years on my really awesome schedule, well… I was spoiled!

The project was inspired by a card layout I saw in an advertisement in a British magazine. I struggled with it for a while, because I was trying to keep to the monochromatic color scheme as well. This is actually the second attempt at using the layout. I was happy to be able to use some of the other Mini Catalog stuff on it as well.

Stamp set: Build a Blossom (Occasions Mini)

Ink: Always Artichoke

Paper: Rose Red, Always Artichoke, Springtime Vintage DSP (Occasions Mini)

Accessories: Blossom Petals punch (Occasions Mini), Fancy Flower punch, Square Lattice textured impressions folder, Antique Brads, Very Vanilla seam binding (Occasions Mini), Stampin’ dimensionals

Do you like the flower? At first, I didn’t know what to use to accent the card such that it matched the floral pattern of the DSP. I realized that this flower accent looks like a rose (kinda), and when I threw in the leaves… perfect! Unfortunately, the leaves are the only thing stamped on this card (I feel a bit guilty). πŸ™‚ But, the upper right hand corner is just waiting for the right (stamped) sentiment! Ha ha!

The flower is easy to make: Punch with the Fancy Flower twice. Run the flowers through the Big Shot with the textured impressions folder. Use your stylus to curl the petals. Don’t forget to sponge on some ink to the edges of the petals (hard to see on this example). Layer the two flowers and attach together with the antique brad. If you’d like to have a workshop and try this out for yourself, contact me! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

