Cute Snowman

The inspiration for today’s card was two-fold. I wanted to color and use the snowman from A Cute Christmas. I have also been on the lookout for an image that lends itself to layering (or paper piecing). The British card magazines do a lot of it, and seeing their cards made me want to do my own! I didn’t use any dimensional glue, like they do… I tried dimensionals, but it was TOO much. Couldn’t think of a different option, so just pasted the layers together.

For the background, I used an embossing folder from the Holiday Mini Catalog.

Cute Snowman Card

Stamp set: A Cute Christmas (Holiday Mini), Tiny Tags

Ink: Pacific Point, Baja Breeze marker, Blushing Bride marker, Real Red marker, Basic Gray marker

Paper: Baja Breeze, Blushing Bride, Whisper White

Accessories: Northern Flurries textured impressions folder (Holiday Mini), Merry Details sizzlits, 1-3/4″ circle punch, 2-3/8″ scallop circle punch, Jewelry tag punch, Smooch Illuminate Top Coat, Shimmer Paint in Frost White, Sponge daubers, Whisper White 5/8″ satin ribbon, 1/16″ handheld circle punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

See, so cute! I have three layers on there: The base layer has the full stamped image, and the next layer is the snowman cut out with his hat and the scarf around his neck. The final layer is the mound of snow in the foreground, plus the part of the scarf that is around his neck. I thought that by piecing the image this way, it emphasizes the foreground snow and the scarf. I really like the scarf!

I added Smooch Top Coat all over the snowman, to make him sparkly (there’s some on the snow beneath him, too). All of this, though, makes him wonder if he’s getting acne: “My forehead is shiny!” Hahahaha! (ahem)

I accented the embossed snowflakes of the background with Shimmer Paint. It’s just enough color to bring out the detail. I needed something in the upper left hand corner of the card… it felt very bare. I almost forgot about the Merry Details sizzlits … the snowflake coordinates quite well (I tried the snowflake punch, but the snowflake is too different from the embossing folder).

Leave a Reply

