Grateful Background

I was reading a British cardmaking magazine recently, and just wanted to try something in one of the articles. (I like reading two of them, because I like seeing the different trends from “across the pond”. Helps kick the creative juices sometimes.) The featured cards were for Christmas, but I thought I could modify the idea for Fall.

For the ladies that had a workshop with me last month, they will surely recognize the sentiment panel. I seem to like this particular sentiment paired with leaves (it’s the season, I guess), so it’s no surprise that I’ve been using it a bit.

Grateful Leaves Card

Stamp set: Falling Leaves, Define Your Life

Ink: More Mustard, Cajun Craze, Cherry Cobbler, Pumpkin Pie

Paper: More Mustard, Cajun Craze textured, Very Vanilla, Waffle paper (black from the Holiday Mini)

Accessories: Leaves #2 Originalz die, Decorative Label punch (Holiday Mini), Sponge daubers

For the background, you tear a piece of scrap paper into two pieces (in my case, I used a Post-It). Lay one half of the torn sheet over one side of your card front, across the whole width. Stamp a pattern (image or words), then rub matching ink along the edge of the mask. For this area, I chose the color ink that goes with the cardstock. Adding the ink along the torn edge of the masking paper gives a neat effect (makes it look darker than the other side, which, really, it is).

Remove the paper mask, then apply the matching mask over the area you just stamped. Stamp on the newly revealed side. For this, I decided to stamp the matching leaves in different colors. The hardest part is to get them spaced more or less evenly and not all pointing in the same direction!

I cut leaves in different colors with my Big Shot die. When i cut the waffle paper, I put a layer of cardstock behind it. The two layers stuck together pretty well after die-cutting. I wanted to keep the waffle paper backed with some cardstock on my final card layout, so I peeled the two layers apart and added some SNAIL in between to keep them together.

I thought the leaf cut from waffle paper looked pretty cool, don’t you? Like it is all dried up and crinkled.

I also sponged one of the leaves with Pumpkin Pie so that it was visible against the background.

Leave a Reply

