Trick-or-Treat

Here’s a treat for you. Not many tricks were performed to create it. πŸ™‚

This is the container I made to give out treats at work. I had decided that I didn’t have enough time to make candy for everyone, so I made a box that was semi-elaborate, but still manageable for the 10+ people I interact with every day.

Can you tell I can’t get enough of this stamp set? πŸ™‚

Spooky Treat

Stamp set: Wicked Cool

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, Basic Black

Paper: Going Gray textured (retired), Basic Black, Cast-a-Spell DSP (retired)

Accessories: Large (1-3/4″ x 7/8″) oval punch, Scallop oval punch, Bat punch, Box #2 Bigz XL die, Waffle Paper (black), Mini Glue Dots, Stampin’ dimensionals, Uniball Signo white gel pen, transparencies

Oh, isn’t that just cool? I like the window. It was a bit of work, but worth it!

I punched the opening in the front of the PLAIN box first, before assembly. I glued the tab of the box, so that we now have a tube (bottom is still open). I cut strips of DSP at 1″ x 10″ (or 7/8″ x 10″ in some cases, which actually works better). Wrap DSP strip around the box, with the ends over the oval opening. (I wrapped the strip around the box without adhesive, to get the fold lines first, then added adhesive to stick the whole strip down.)

Shining a lamp on the inside of the box, I penciled in where I need to punch. This way, I knew how to align the punch when I punched out the DSP that was overlapping the opening. Now, all I had to do was attach the scallop oval frame around the opening. (Punch oval out of cardstock, then punch scallop oval around oval to create the frame.)

For the inside, I decided I wanted a little bit of details, too! I usually leave it empty because of the mass production, but I thought a couple of details here would be quick. First, I stamped the bats from Wicked Cool, as if they are coming out of the box.

Spooky Treat Inside

I also lined the box with some waffle paper, making sure that the window wasn’t covered. I also made sure that some of the solid colored wrappers were visible in the window so that you can read my greeting. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

