Cute Creepy

I saw a card in a recent ad for Martha Stewart Halloween products, that kind of jump-started this card. There was an invitation with an off-white panel that had curved and pointed shapes. It reminded me of what people were doing with the Top Note die, so I started from there.

People have been using the Top Note die to create a square with a decorative edge. After cutting the Top Note, they would cut it again with the Top Note die after rotating the die cut 90 degrees. So, because one axis is longer than the other, some of the original die cut gets lopped off, and you are left with a square with points in the middle of each edge and slighly curved edges. You still get the perforation marks, too!

I ended up putting this panel on a shaped card, since I thought a basic rectangular shape would be too boring! đŸ™‚ (Although, I’m going to have to try that with a different theme…)

Headstone Card

Stamp set: Wicked Cool, Inspired by Nature, Vintage Vogue (inside), All Holidays (inside)

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, Basic Black, Basic Gray, Whisper White craft

Paper: Basic Gray, Very Vanilla, Whisper White, Basic Black

Accessories: Top Note Bigz die, Two-step Owl punch, Circle scissor plus, Sponge dauber, Stampin’ pastels, 2-way glue pen, Stampin’ dimensionals

See, creepy in a cute sort of way!

I created the tombstone shape by tracing a circle (that I cut with the Circle Scissors, 4-3/4″ in diameter, I think), along the top of the card. The fold is on the left hand side. You will want to use a circle a little bit larger in diameter than the width of your card, I think, but that may just be a personal preference for the shape.

It’s hard to tell, but I sponged Basic Gray all over the “tombstone” to age it. I also put color on the edges of the stamped panel.

Do you see the ghost? That’s something else people have been doing with the Owl punch. Basically, punch out the body, turn it upside down, cut off the feet, and you’re ready to decorate with the eye ball sizes of your choice. I also sponged some ink around the edges.

For the grass, I stamped with the grass image from Inspired by Nature, in Whisper White craft ink. Then, I patted Garden Green chalk on top so the grass wasn’t white. In real life, there’s a bit of a halo (around each blade of grass) from the extra chalk. Makes it look kind of eerie…

Oh, and here is the inside, since it’s gotta be finished, right? I carried the ghost to the inside, but stamped vine images instead of cobwebs (that were on the front). I wanted a slightly different creepy thing, so I went for the “dead vine” look.

Headstone Card Inside

Leave a Reply

