Pacific Whale

Well, here we are again, another post! I have been creating, but I’ve also been busy with other things in my life. (I may mention some of it when it gets all settled. But, NO, not moving, in case you’re wondering. Not that I know of anyway. 🙂 )

Before I get into some Halloween-y stuff, I have to show you one card that I just had to try out. For some reason, I felt like watercoloring the whale from Pun Fun. Whee!

Pacific Whale Card

Stamp set: Pun Fun

Ink: Pacific Point, Basic Gray, Baja Breeze, StazOn Jet Black

Paper: Pacific Point, Baja Breeze, Basic Gray, Watercolor, Whisper White

Accessories: Whimsy Jumbo Wheel, Smooch Illuminate Top Coat, Aqua painters, Whisper White satin ribbon, Sticky strip, Mini glue dots, Stampin’ dimensionals, Word Window punch, Modern Label punch

Isn’t that fun? So quick and easy to color.

The ribbon treatment is from a video I saw from Renee Van Stralen (VERY talented stamper; I need to put a link to her blog at some point). Basically, you put Sticky Strip down where you are going to put your ribbon. Make the end of the ribbon how you like (like this notched cut, whatever it’s official name is). Start laying down the ribbon over the Sticky Strip, and fold the ribbon back over itself. Make sure you have enough ribbon between folds so that the ribbon makes contact with the Sticky Strip. She ended the ribbon under a stamped image and so did I. Once you got your ribbon down, go back and add a Mini Glue Dot under each fold to make it more secure and get it to lie flat a bit more.

One of my favorite embellishments right now is the Smooch Illuminate. It adds a bit of sparkle that’s subtle. Kind of how I like it. It doesn’t flake off as much as glitter, too! (BUT, I’m not knocking Dazzling Diamonds, if you know what I mean. There’s a place for THAT, too!) I put some on the whale’s water spout and at the top of the waves under him.

Whale Closeup

I also added Smooch Illuminate in some of the circles in the wheeled image. It’s hard to see from the original picture, so here’s a closeup.

Background Closeup

So, hope all of the fun details on this card makes you feel better today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

