Another Notecard

Here’s the notecard I gave out for workshop guests last month. This is also inspired by a presentation made by a demonstrator Heather Summers during Convention. She had multiple circles, and even showed a window card with the Aviary set, but I kept it simple here.

Aviary Spotlight Notecard

Stamp set: Aviary

Ink: Early Espresso, Crumb Cake, Marina Mist, Sahara Sand, Soft Suede marker

Paper: Old Olive, Whisper White

Accessories: 1″ circle punch, Very Vanilla 1/8″ taffeta ribbon, Basic rhinestones

Isn’t that cute? The idea is to punch the same image and overlay in the same place. By making the punched image on lighter cardstock, you SPOTLIGHT the birdie image (that’s the name of the technique by the way, spotlight). I got the idea to stamp the cage image (on Whisper White) in a lighter ink than the background cage, from another demonstrator named Lydia (from over on Splitcoast).

Then, of course, you just decorate your cage a bit. I like how the ribbon and rhinestone add just a cute little touch. Oh, and don’t forget that your birdcage has to be supported by a chain or something (otherwise it’s just hanging in mid-air).

On the inside, I had to stamp another birdie, of course. I made this guy’s tummy a slightly different color than the rest of him.

Aviary Spotlight, Inside

I inked the stamp first in Sahara Sand, then just ran my Soft Suede marker over the spots I wanted darker. I think it came out neat. There are some variations in the inking that make him look extra fluffy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

