Chocolate Bliss

I’m continuing on with using the stamp set Blissful Bride from the Summer Mini Catalog. Can you believe we’re already in mid-August? That means we only have about 1/2 month left of this catalog. I don’t know why I didn’t play with these stamp sets earlier! At least I got re-energized during Convention…

Today, I used the small sentiment from the stamp set, and combined it with an image from a stamp set we got from Convention last year. I haven’t used that stamp set much, either.

Blissful Chocolate Card

Stamp set: Blissful Bride (Summer Mini), Things I Love

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Marina Mist, Whisper White, Pretty in Pink

Accessories: Scallop circle punch, 1-3/8″ and 1-1/4″ circle punches, Scallop Trim border punch, Jewelry Tag punch, Early Espresso 1/8″ taffeta ribbon, Shimmer Paint Frost White, Texturz Plates Backgrounds 1, Paper crimper, Stampin’ dimensionals

I’m loving the new color, Marina Mist. Doesn’t it look great with Pretty in Pink? Kind of a modern girly color combination…

Okay, the Whisper White strip across the card, in retrospect, looks a bit wide and plain. I was planning on stamping the sentiment all over that piece, originally. I changed my mind and glued everything together. It wasn’t until later that I am starting to think it needs a little something to balance it out, but I don’t know what! Oh well…

But, don’t you think the sentiment matches the image perfectly, even if they came from different sets? How can chocolate NOT be blissful? (If you’re not allergic to chocolate, that is…)

Did you see what I did to the chocolate piece, too? I accented it with Shimmer Paint, and added a crimped piece of cardstock below to make it look like it’s in a little wrapper (like you would get from Godiva, for instance). Here’s a closeup:

Blisful Chocolate Closeup

I have to say, I originally wanted to use Smooch Illuminate Top Coat. There is an interesting blurb about it in the catalog. It reads:

“Achieve best results with top coat over permanent ink or a solid stamped image.”

Huh? What the heck does that mean? What if the solid stamped image is NOT stamped with permanent ink? Well, it’s a mess, let me tell you. For now, I recommend using it on cardstock (i.e., within line art stamped image or plain cardstock). Don’t use it on Classic ink. Why? Like I said, it turns out a mess. I was a little heavy handed, and it looked okay at first. But look at what happens after letting it sit / dry for a few minutes. The image was stamped with Early Espresso Classic ink.

Smooch-ed Bonbon

EEE-Yuck. Although, if I was going for the glazed donut look, I suppose it doesn’t look half-bad. ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess it must be water-based and reacts with the ink. I suspect it’s worse on Whisper White cardstock and when it’s used on a solid image. I’ve done experiments with outline stamps on other colors of cardstock, and the same thing does not happen. You’ll have to trust me on that, though. Not ready to show you those yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

