Convention Swap: Note card

So, here’s the first of my Convention swap cards I’d like to share with you. I’ll share my favorites of what I got later. Did I mention there were 80 of us in this swap? It took a while to get organized (and I was worried I was going to run out toward the end). But, the actual swapping went quite smoothly.

The point of this swap was to trade 3×3 notecards. These are quick little notes you can make. Bundle it to give as a gift, or use it to write a short note to someone. I felt a bit bad that there was no stamping on this one, but I think it came out cute none-the-less. (I CAN toot my own horn, right?)

Daisy Notecard

Stamp set: none

Ink: Smooch Gold Lame

Paper: Sahara Sand textured, Whisper White

Accessories: Petals-a-Plenty Textured Impressions folder, Daffodil Delight 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Stampin’ dimensionals

As I mentioned in my Convention Summary post from yesterday, I estimate that I colored in about 3000 dots. Only took me 3 hours, which does seem kinda slow: 16 dots per minute? Remember, I had to make a good impression here (no pun intended), and color the dots carefully. I actually did flub a couple of pieces and had to make new pieces.

The organizer of this swap “tempted” us with this little detail: You can make 8 of these cards from one sheet of 12×12 cardstock. In theory, these would make up quickly. Yes, but when you make 80 of them, time seems to go on FOR-EV-ER. But, I took a hint from Henry Ford, and made an assembly line process out of it. I did one step at a time: did all embossing, did all the coloring, cut all ribbon pieces, tied all ribbon pieces. Then, I was ready for the final assembly.

Pieces for Notecard

I usually like to tie a full knot on the front of the card. But, to save time, I put a simple knot in each piece. And, I used “contraband”: Scotch tape to hold the ribbon in place in the back. My mini glue dots were not cooperating on another project, so I stuck with (haha) Scotch tape to hold down ribbon.

Leave a Reply

