Painting with Paint

Today’s card uses Shimmer Paint for exactly that, painting on my card to add shimmer. Imagine that!

I saw an awesome card on Splitcoast earlier in the year, that used one of the flowers from Fifth Avenue Floral. It was black on red cardstock, with parts of the petals colored in black. And so on. Well, I took the color scheme and took it further.

Red and Gold Manhattan Card

Stamp set: Fifth Avenue Floral

Ink: VersaMark, Shimmer Paint Champagne Mist

Paper: Real Red, Whisper White (inside)

Accessories: Black Stampin’ emboss powder, Basic Black 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Beachfront Ribbon originals (retired but on the Clearance Rack now!)

I used a fantastik from Tsukineko to paint. (If you look on your bottle of Shimmer Paint, you will see that it is an “all purpose ink for fantastix”.) These are little sticks to paint with (they look like crayons) and you can find them in your local craft store. The big box craft store carries this as well. You can get them in bullet tip (blunt) or brush point (pointy). I like the pointy one.

Anyway, as long as you don’t have too much paint on your little stick, the embossing helps you to paint “inside the lines”, including the little circles in the center of the flower! I thought that was super convenient. 🙂

I like how the Champagne Mist comes out golden on the Real Red cardstock. And how it’s so shimmery. Makes me smile. 🙂

The other great find was the Beachfront Ribbon Originals … I thought it matched the gold color perfectly, even though I think the official color may be Kraft or Sahara Sand (don’t have the old Product Guide, though, so can’t really check). I got it off the Clearance Rack last week. Do you ever go there? You really should check it out. I think it gets updated every 2 to 3 weeks, and there are some good deals over there. Never did get this ribbon pack when it originally came out, so was happy to snag one now. You’ll have to order them through my online store, but it’s pretty simple to do. If you need help, just let me know.

Oh, and the idea for layering the ribbons… I was reading a sewing magazine recently, and one of the columns talked about using trims to personalize home-sewn or ready-to-wear jackets. The author frequently layers trims because of the uniqueness, among other things. I liked the little knobby things on the edges of the ribbon I was using, but I also wanted black. So, I compromised by putting both, using what I had just read. 🙂

Oh, and if you are the recipient of this card, hopefully you already looked at it before coming here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

