Cool Cocktail

The card I have for today is my version of various cards that have been circulating. It uses one of the new sets, Tropical Party. It combines two techniques that I love, cutting of stamped images and sponging, so it was only a matter of time before I created this card…

Cheers Card

Stamp set: Tropical Party (Summer Mini), Cheers to You

Ink: Tempting Turquoise, Summer Sun (retiring, what am I going to do???), More Mustard, Old Olive

Paper: Kraft (soon-to-be Crumb Cake), Tangerine Tango textured (coming back!), Pumpkin Pie, Whisper White, Island Oasis DSP

Accessories: Scallop Circle #2 Bigz, Circle Scissors Plus, Pumpkin Pie 5/8″ striped grosgrain, Word Window punch, Sponge daubers, Stampin’ dimensionals

So, the idea is that you see the ocean in the background, and there’s a tree, drink, and flowers right in front of you. After I put it together, I realized that the drink and flowers seem to float in space (they aren’t really sitting on a table or anything). Oh well. 🙂

OH! In case you’re wondering, yes, I did cut out the stamped image of the cocktail. However, if you’re really observant, you may notice that it was attached in two pieces. The image on my card is slightly different from the stamped version, because I didn’t put the umbrella in quite the right place. It was a mistake that led to a better way of doing things. Let me explain.

I tried to cut the image out with a craft blade, because of the skinny lines and the difficulty of maneuvering into the center part of the image (between the umbrella and the coconut). I accidentally cut off the umbrella and ripped the bottom post. So, I stamped again and cut out just the umbrella with the post attached. Turns out, this was the better way to do it. Just cut out the coconut with the straw. Then, cut out the umbrella with its post. That way, you’re not trying to maneuver around small, skinny pieces. Clear as mud? (One could even argue that you should cut the straw separately too!)

Leave a Reply

