A Little Bit of Sewing

I wonder how much the Big Shot/fabric craze has gotten women to dust off their sewing machines and run fabric through there again? (I say fabric, because I know some women add sewing to their cards and scrapbook pages; doesn’t count!) 🙂 It sure got me to finally pull the machine out for other than small mending tasks (such as attaching buttons, how pathetic is that!)

So, I got a few coordinating fabrics from a local craft store (won’t hit the quilting stores until I get a feel for sewing again!), so I can make an adorable bag from the Scallop Square Clear die. Pre-washed the fabric, even though I don’t know if people have been doing it. Just a habit from the “old days”.

I must say, it IS less stressful to cut pieces all of the same size. As I was cutting up the batting to go in the middle of the squares, I found that I had enough variations in sizes that I had to trim before sewing. Hmph. How that happened, I don’t know. But, cutting the squares was much easier. Got a strip of fabric 5″ wide from selvage to selvage, folded so that I got eight layers (about 5″ x 5″ squares), put the whole stack on the die, and whoosh! I did notice that since there’s no foam in the middle of the die, the last layer or so didn’t cut well on the leading edge. Of course, now that I think about it, I should have tried rolling the square through the Big Shot on a diagonal (so you don’t get that leading edge). Not a big deal though, to trim the piece out of the rest of the fabric.

Here’s a picture of all the squares cut. I made 19 squares of the inner pattern, 6 squares of 2 outer patterns, and 7 squares of the third outer pattern.

Fabric Squares

After “quilting” each outer square to an inner square (corner to corner, wrong sides of fabric together with a smaller piece of batting between), I laid them all out on my cutting surface so I could decide how to arrange the squares on the final bag. I guess I’m kinda AR about that; I want to make sure the colors flow right, and that the orientation of each square is just right (hate for one panel to be upside down…) Oh, and you know, lining things up during sewing is great, because you’ve got the scallops to help you!

Layout Before Assembly

So here is what my finished bag looked like. This was before I washed it to fray the exposed edges (the “chenille” look?). I added some pockets on the inside and one on the outside. I even added a little clasp to hold keys or something. Sorry, I don’t have pictures of the inside.

Finished Bag

As you can see, one of the fabrics I chose had a bunch of different images that could be used as focal images. I was able to keep the images intact when I cut out the squares. Yippee! Kind of adds to the bag, don’t you think?

I even used some Stampin’ Up! buttons (from the Buttons Latte pack) as my bag closure. 🙂 And you can see another one of those big fabric images.

Bag Closure

So, this was a pretty fun adventure. I eventually re-learned how to do things on my sewing machine (such as winding a bobbin…). Would I do it again? You betcha! I can’t wait to head over to a quilting shop to see what kind of fun fabrics I can use next!

Leave a Reply

