CASEd Card

Most of the time, I get my ideas from Splitcoast or other stamper’s blogs. Today’s card was from a card I saw in the April 2010 Crafts ‘n Things magazine. (Okay, I can’t find a picture online, but if you have access to the magazine, it’s on page 46. Plus, can you believe it took me 1/2 hour to find the correct reference? I really must organize better…)

I didn’t have any of the same stamps and punches, but I made-do with the Stampin’ Up! stuff I have. It is a neat challenge to subtitute stamp sets and punches, sometimes. I did stick with the same basic color scheme, though. And, I didn’t have as many flowers as the original.

Vintage Flowers Card

Stamp set: En Francais background, Vintage Vogue (Mini), Happy Moments (SAB)

Ink: Certainly Celery, Rich Razzleberry, Melon Mambo

Paper: Very Vanilla, Whisper White, Certainly Celery, Razzleberry Lemonade DSP

Accessories: Little Leaves Sizzlit, Scallop Trim border punch (SAB), Sponge daubers

I cut the Little Leaves stem into pieces for some parts, and left it whole in another.

I like how the bird cage adds a little whimsy. Never would have thought to use it that way, if I didn’t see the card in the magazine. It’s too bad this stamp set is going away soon (Sale-A-Bration ends in less than a week! This, and the punch, can be earned with any $50 purchase!)

I like how the inked edges look with the background stamp, too! But, next time, I think I need to add more flowers…

The strip of Razzleberry Lemonade on the right is on the inside of the card. The Scallop Trim is attached to the edge of the front of the card, with the background of the card adhered over it. I decided to “sandwich” the border between layers, just because I don’t always like to see bare edges on cards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

