March Project

I’m back from my trip, and finally started stamping yesterday. What a slug!

Happy Girls’ Day! (ooh, I should look into making mochi, or something…)

Here’s the card from this month’s newsletter. I CASEd this idea almost completely from someone I see on Splitcoast. Her name is Alesha Walls. She’s on blogspot and the specific post is  here. I really liked the monochromatic theme of the card, and it was also an opportunity to use Big Shot items. (Going back to her post, I noticed that I used a completely different color scheme; but they both work!)

Three Butterflies Card

Stamp set: Vintage Labels (SAB)

Ink: Whisper  White Craft

Paper: Chocolate Chip, Rich Razzleberry, Melon Mambo, Rose Red

Accessories: Perfect Polka Dots Impressions folder (Mini), Beautiful Butterflies Bigz die, White stampin’ emboss powder, Stampin’ dimensionals

And that’s it! I like the embossed panel of Chocolate Chip on top of a Chocolate Chip card base. You use it in place of a stamped background or a panel of DSP. Clever! Then, you pick three coordinating colors for your butterflies and you’re done! The sentiment can be done more easily by using rub-ons.

I actually borrowed my mom’s die for this card. Took a whole bunch of cardstock with me and cranked those butterflies out. Hmm, tempting… I wanted to see how much I liked it first. Did you know, the butterflies I used on this card (the smallest size for this die) actually layer nicely with the largest butterfly of the Beautiful Wings embosslits (in the Mini)? I’ll need to play a bit to show you…

Oh, and if anyone is wondering about what we ended up painting last week, I’ll post pictures of those later…

Leave a Reply

