Valentine Samples

See, I’m telling ya… this holiday really snuck up on me! I worked on a few different Valentine card ideas… hopefully one of them is fun enough to even give away! 🙂

I’m currently playing with Love Bandit for these samples. I am on a mission to color these images so they are WOW! Okay, my samples are not quite there yet, but I think I need to try more techniques.

For both of these, I got the idea of building a sentiment around the letter “U”.

Card #1: This one is actually a mini card (3×3).

Squirrel Love Card

Stamp set: Love Bandit (Mini), Tiny Tags (Mini), Woodgrain background

Ink: Real Red, Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, VersaMarker, Uniball Signo white gel pen

Paper: Pretty in Pink, Close to Cocoa, Creamy Caramel, Whisper White, Real Red, Sweet Pea DSP (Mini)

Accessories: Pinking Hearts border punch, Medium Jewelry tag punch, Whisper White taffeta ribbon, Soft Subtles brads, Timeless Type Junior alphabet

I am not sure if the squirrel really means it when he says he loves you. I mean, I think he is just using you, and he really just wants to get closer to your plants!

I stamped the squirrel image onto Creamy Caramel cardstock, to get the basic color for him. I then added shading with the VersaMarker. I got this idea from Diana Gibbs (she did it with the same set, actually!). I colored in his flowers with the gel pen, and added a few highlights. After adding the highlight to his head, I realized that it makes him look like he has an oily forehead, or something (so shiny!).

Card #2: This is an A2 card.

Owl Love Card

Stamp set: Love Bandit (Mini)

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Pumpkin Pie marker

Paper: Real Red, Pretty in Pink, Whisper White, Welcome Neighbor DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Scallop Trim border punch, Designer label punch, Heart to Heart punch, Timeless Type Junior alphabet, Vanilla Hodgepodge hardware, Whisper White taffeta ribbon, Crystal Effects

The idea for combining the heart plus the “u” is not original… I think there are stamp sets like that (You & Moi and Love You Much) and a Decor Stencil as well. Oh, and plus who hasn’t seen the phrase “i {heart} u”? I added the owl, because there had to be someone to give the nice wishes! 🙂

You may also be wondering where I used the Crystal Effects…? Well, since I didn’t attach the Hodgepodge label with brads, it was kind of loose on the card. Floppy. Glue dots weren’t cooperating… can you believe that they were sticking to the paper but not the hardware? It must be the finish or something, the glue dots refused to stick to it. So, out came the bottle of Crystal Effects. Now, it’s on there for good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

