A Monkey and His Hammer

Did you hear the one about the monkey and his hammer? No? Well, neither did I! I just thought it’s an appropriate title for today’s card.

We recently celebrated my father-in-law’s birthday. It’s always a challenge to create masculine cards! I used the Totally Tool set last year, so had to come up with something a little different. I thought maybe I could combine it with the Sock Monkey.

Hammer Monkey Card

Stamp set: Sock Monkey, Totally Tool, Woodgrain background, All Holidays, Dinner Party (Country Living), Itty Bitty Backgrounds

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Close to Cocoa, Close to Cocoa marker, Real Red marker, Basic Black journaler

Paper: Barely Banana, Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, Whisper White, Naturals Ivory

Accessories: Pink Hearts border edge punch, Vintage brads, Platinum Shimmer Ink, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Sponge daubers

It’s kind of hard to see… I used the Pinking Hearts border along the bottom of the woodgrain panel. I thought it would make it look like someone cut it with a saw. Goes with the antique pewter brads, too. I sponged some color onto the cardstock to try to make it look like the wood has been sitting out for a while. šŸ™‚

Do you like the hammer? Last year, I pieced together cardstock in different colors to get the right colors for the tools. I love it that we have the Shimmer Inks this year (STILL!).

I had to hand-write the sentiment, because I wanted something to go with the image I built. Check out how it finishes on the inside.

Hammer Monkey Card, Inside

I know, demented, huh?

Leave a Reply

