More Card Sets, Part 2

Are we having fun yet? Okay, I promise that this will be the last one on this theme. Well, I can’t promise that I won’t show you how I used different parts of the same paper, but I promise not to beat the idea to death. Gotta work on other things, right? 🙂

Okay, so the pattern today has a whole bunch of birds standing around. Not really sure what they are doing, and I don’t want to think about it too much. I mean, you’ve seen what happens when a whole bunch of birds sit in one spot too long, right? (Reminds me of the dove that used to nest outside my apartment, but I digress…)

I used the same cutting guide as yesterday, but I cut 5-3/4″ from the top of the sheet instead. This gave me more of the pattern to work with, top-to-bottom.

Card #1: We’ll start with the 3″ x 6″ card.

Bird Note

Stamp set: Picture This (Mini hostess)

Ink: Chocolate Chip marker, Taken with Teal marker

Paper: Bashful Blue, Whisper White, Chocolate Chip, Barely Banana, Sweet Pea DSP (Mini)

Accessories: Modern label punch, Small oval punch, Latte designer buttons

I wanted a strip under the sentiment, but I didn’t want anything too busy, nor did I want ribbon. I had some skinny strips of cardstock from something else, so that’s what I used. The bottom of the card looked a tiny bit empty, so I added a little embellishment (I really like how that looks!).

Card #2: Next, we have an A2 card.

Happy Bird Day Card

Stamp set: Picture This (Mini hostess)

Ink: Chocolate Chip marker, Taken with Teal marker, Pumpkin Pie marker

Paper: Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, Bashful Blue, Summer Sun, Whisper White, Sweet Pea DSP

Accessories: Whisper White taffeta ribbon, Crop-o-dile, Stampin’ dimensionals

I wanted a couple of ribbon knots in two corners. I punched one hole near the edges, and tied the ribbon around the edge and through a hole. It feels like it’s missing something, but I can’t quite put my finger on what it is… Or maybe there’s too much ribbon… Oh well, moving along.

Card #3: The last card is 5-1/4″ x 5-1/4″.

Bird Friend Card

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Chocolate Chip

Paper: Close to Cocoa, Chocolate Chip, Sweet Pea DSP

Accessories: Modern label punch, Playground designer buttons

This one is pretty simple; the card is pretty much the DSP. Again, I added an accent in the lower right corner of the card. Funny how that happened!

The sentiment was stamped directly onto the DSP. I was originally going to stamp it on colored cardstock and cut it out. It turned out nicer, really, when I stamped it directly. Strangely enough, with the sentiment on the cardstock, it stood out TOO much and that’s what made it look weird.

Well, I hope you found these past few posts as inspiration enough to cut into your DSP! Just go for it! Besides, each design has two sheets, so it won’t matter if you cut at least one of them, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

