More Card Sets, Part 1

I’m on a roll! I found more designs in the Sweet Pea DSP stack that would make great card sets. This time, the cards that I made were all of different sizes. You’ll see that you don’t have to stick to one size; it all depends on the pattern. Today’s pattern practically BEGGED to be cut into different sizes, actually! Really! I put my clear 12″ ruler across the design and there were natural breaks in specific spots.

I’ll show the cards first, then I’ll talk about how I cut up the sheet of DSP.

Card #1: First, we have a standard A2 card.

Flowers in Bloom Card

Stamp set: Bella’s Bloom

Ink: Old Olive marker, Rose Red marker

Paper: Melon Mambo textured, Old Olive, Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White, Sweet Pea DSP (Mini)

Accessories: Vanilla Hodgepodge Hardware, Stampin’ dimensionals, Designer label punch

I had a strip of another design laying around, and I thought it worked great as a band behind the sentiment label.

Card #2: This card is a 3″ x 6″ card.

Happy Flowers Card

Stamp set: Picture This (Mini hostess)

Ink: Chocolate Chip

Paper: Rich Razzleberry, Chocolate Chip, Barely Banana, Sweet Pea DSP (Mini)

Accessories: Sweet Pea stitched felt, Word window punch

I added some of the stitched felt to the flowers in the pattern. Adds just a touch of dimension.

Card #3: The final card is a 5-1/4″ x 5-1/4″ card.

Flowers with Heart Card

Stamp set: Whimsical Words (SAB)

Ink: Old Olive marker, Rose Red marker

Paper: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Melon Mambo, Whisper White, Rich Razzleberry, Sweet Pea DSP

Accessories: Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon, Horizontal slot punch, Beautiful Wings embosslits, Stampin’ dimensionals

I was glancing through an old card magazine and saw a similar layout to this card. I just had to try it! It is a variation to tying the ribbon around the card under the main sentiment image. For this layout, the ribbon is pulled through a slot on the left hand side of the sentiment panel. This lets the knot in the ribbon overlap more with the sentiment. As you can see, I forgot to move the sentiment over just a teensy bit more so you can read it easily…

These three cards do not bundle well with envelopes, but you could always give them in a box or a nice bag.

Cutting guide: For this particular sheet, I cut 5-1/2″ from the top of the design. Then, starting from the left, I cut a piece 4″ wide, then 5″ wide. This gives you three pieces: 4″ x 5-1/2″ (for an A2 card), 5″ x 5-1/2″ (for a 5″ or so square card), and 3″ x 5-1/2″ (for a 3″ x 6″) card. Trim pieces as needed for each card.

Leave a Reply

