January Swap Card

Here’s the swap card I made for our demonstrator group’s meeting on Wednesday night.

Fox Thief Card

Stamp set: Fox & Friends (Mini)

Ink: Bravo Burgundy

Paper: Old Olive, Rich Razzleberry, Pretty in Pink, Whisper White, Real Red, Sweet Pea DSP (Mini)

Accessories: Scallop Trim corner punch, Scallop Trim border punch, Heart to Heart punch, craft knife, Pretty in Pink satin ribbon, Perfect Details Texturz Plate, Stampin’ dimensionals

Even if this stamp set doesn’t make it to the next catalog, I just HAD to get it. My mom and I had so much fun with the matching Decor Elements, well, I wanted to play with the stamps, too!

I got the idea for the focal image from a sentiment from another set, Love Bandit. I thought this little guy looked mischievous, and so was running away with a heart/valentine in his mouth! Besides, aren’t they known for stealing from unguarded hen coops? I used the craft knife to carefully cut around his chin, so I could insert the heart. Make sure you have a sharp blade to make it easier (or you may just cut off his chin!). Here’s a closeup:

Closeup of Fox with Heart

Do you like the scallop border around the focal image? That’s a combination of two of our new punches. Using the punches together to make a continuous border like that takes SOME practice. I found I have to work from the back of the punch to make sure everything is aligned. You just CANNOT used the printed guides on the front if you’re making a border all the way around a square or rectangle (you CAN use them if you’re just making a border). Some very fast-working demonstrators also came up with some measurements to make the continuous borders. It’s not obvious, nor are they the same as the other brand on the market (seen in big box stores). If you want to see the measurements, check out Gretchen Barron’s blog (do a search for her on Google). I used the two smallest and they work; I’ve yet to get comfortable with bigger sizes and verify those sizes. You’ll have to get comfortable with measuring in 1/16ths…

This particular square started with 2-3/8″ x 2-3/8″. The inner square (inside the scallops) after punching is about 1-15/16″.

Oh, and I couldn’t resist using the Texturz Plate. I thought the top part of the card looked a little bare. None of my wheels or stamps inspired me, so it became texture!

Leave a Reply

