Layered Flowers Card

Today’s card again uses an egg stand strip from Eggcellent Eggs, and I’m also using the die cut flowers. The colors on this card turned out a bit muted; almost a vintage color scheme. I stuck to using the die cut flower layers and supplemented with a few bits of other accessories. I did mention earlier that these flower die cuts will match punches; I’ll show that on another day.

Layered Flowers Card

Stamp set: Whimsical Words (SAB)

Ink: Soft Suede

Paper: Soft Suede, Crushed Curry, Whisper White

Accessories: Eggcellent Eggs kit, Playground designer buttons, Pretties kit, Mini glue dots, Stampin’ dimensionals

I used the egg stand strip at it’s original length; I should have “extended” it by cutting it in half, but I didn’t think of it at the time (I actually made this card before I made the card from Monday). It still works, though!

Here’s a little tip for ya: If you put the layers together using Mini glue dots instead of SNAIL or a 2-way glue pen, you’ll get just a bit of dimension in the layers (they won’t be completely flat on each other). You can also “fluff” the edges a bit (I forgot to do that).

Again, don’t forget to snip off those little nibs left behind when you punch out the die cuts.

I thought the different patterns on the die cuts would be distracting when you put them together. Seems better somehow, though. Funny how that works! I guess it’s not all one color, so doesn’t look so “flat”.

Leave a Reply

