Dimensional Butterflies

Okay, here we go with another way to use the butterflies from the Beautiful Wings embosslits. You could layer a lighter color over a darker color, so that it looks like the butterfly has a shadow. I’ve shown this technique before, but I forgot about this until I saw someone’s card on Splitcoast recently. And, don’t forget, you can layer different sizes of butterflies (I may do this at a later date, but who knows…)

And, today, we’ll get a first peek at how I’ve used items from the Eggcellent Eggs kit.

Butterfly Bouquet Card

Stamp set: Happy Moments (SAB)

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Pretty in Pink marker, Bashful Blue marker, Summer Sun marker, Pale Plum marker, Old Olive marker

Paper: Regal Rose, Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White, Pretty in Pink, Basic Gray, Sweet Pea DSP (mini)

Accessories: Beautiful Wings embosslits die, Eggcellent Eggs kit, Old Olive 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Chocolate Chip satin ribbon (mini), Stampin’ dimensionals

The butterflies really DO look dimensional, don’t they?

I used one of the egg stand strips on the card, can you see it? Remember, I said it was about 4-3/8″ long if you trim off the little tab and slot for holding the stand together. Since the strip needed to go across the 5-1/2″ side of my card, what was I to do? Well, since my focal image was in the center of the card and was going over the spot with the strip, I “cheated”. I cut the strip in half and adhered the two pieces starting from the edges. Since the middle was going to be covered anyway, no one will know the difference! (Well, except, now YOU!) 🙂 Pretty nifty trick, huh?

Oh, and when you use the strips, don’t forget to snip off those little bits left behind.. they are used to hold the strip in place in the kit, but you don’t need them when you use them! Here’s a picture of a strip so you know what I mean.

Die Cut Border

Leave a Reply

