Wreath Card

I have neglected my poor blog! I have been stamping a bit, but I’ve been enjoying my time off way TOO much. (I haven’t finished my Christmas cards yet!)

But, I have a few cards I can share with you while I assemble my cards.

I read an article in the latest CK magazine (or was it the previous issue?) They showed different ways of using your punches. They used Nestabilities, but I came up with a way to use our Big Shot stuff.

Here is a wreath card:

Wreath Card

Stamp set: Teeny Tiny Wishes

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Garden Green

Paper: Bridesmaid Specialty, Garden Green, Real Red, Brushed Gold, Whisper White

Accessories: Circle Scissors plus, Scallop circle #2 die, Real Red polka-dot grosgrain ribbon, Red bead duo, Matchbox die, Modern Label punch, Word Window punch, Crystal effects

To create the wreath, I drew “axis” lines on my cardstock and then cut out the circle. I tried to get the center of the circle as close to where the axes met. Then, I put the piece of cardstock with the circle onto my die. I placed a ruler on the center line of the die, and used the axes and the ruler to center the circle within the scallop circle.

I inked the edges a bit to give it dimension. I adhered the beads using Crystal Effects.

For the sentiment, I wanted something a little fancier than just the word window on the modern label (I do that combo a lot). So, I pulled out my leftovers from the matchbox die, and decided to use the shape closest to the bottom piece (hope that makes sense!). I thought it looked kinda neat with the edges popping out along the top and bottom of the sentiment.

And, to show that you don’t have to just make cards this way, I had to make a tag. I started with the scallop circle punch and the Two Tags die.

Wreath Tag

Stamp set: Sweet Season

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Real Red marker, Old Olive

Paper: Very Vanilla

Accessories: Two Tags die, Scallop circle punch, 1 inch circle punch, Real Red 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Gold elastic cord, Sponge daubers, 1/16″ handheld circle punch

See? The same idea but on a smaller scale. This time, I decided to add the green to the cardstock with ink, rather than start with Old Olive cardstock. Using the Two Tags die was a natural, since the scallop circle goes well with it. I chose the 1″ circle for the inside, since it gave a wider margin with the scallop circle (the 1-1/4″ punch was too skinny).

I drew in the berries with the Real Red marker instead of using beads. I figured this would have more handling, so you don’t want to attach beads. Besides, you would also make more tags than cards, so you’d want something easy. 🙂

I just realized: The Two Tags die is one of the items on the Online Sale, going on until Tuesday. It’s a pretty fun die to have.

Leave a Reply

