September Project

This is the project included in this month’s newsletter. I wanted to show off one of the new stamp sets from the Holiday Mini Catalog, but use it in more of a summer theme. I suppose I could have used the balloon basket, but that use was too obvious. 🙂 I found a project on Splitcoast that I had to copy and make my own. In fact, there is a note that you can build a flower this way, but it’s not obvious. So, an even better reason to show this project. 🙂

Sunflower Treat

Sunflower Treat

Stamp set: Sweet Centers (Mini), Hello Again

Ink: Crushed Curry, Melon Mambo, Old Olive

Paper: Soft Suede, Whisper White

Accessories: Small cello bag, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Circle Scissors Plus, Stampin’ sponges, Sweet Treat cups, M&Ms

I used the Circle Scissors Plus to cut the opening in the Whisper White focal image panel and the Soft Suede card base. It’s a 1-3/4″ circle, but the handheld punch works best to center on a 3″ wide piece. (This card is 4″ square.)

I stamped each petal using the Stamp-a-ma-jig (this was preferable to cutting out each petal). I stamped at North, South, East, West, then stamped a petal in between each position for a total of 8 petals.

I sponged Old Olive ink around the edges so the panel wasn’t so white. I added the butterfly for interest.

On the inside, I stamped the butterfly again to reflect the theme.

Sunflower Treat Open

Sunflower Treat Open

I used markers to ink the flower with stem before stamping. For this card, the back of the treat cup is on the inside of the card instead of between the focal image and the card base. That way, you can remove the treats without destroying the card. Unfortunately, the backing is visible when you open the card. Later, I’ll show you a project that will hide this part.

Leave a Reply

