Movers and Shapers Project

This is the project I prepped for last week’s meetings. It uses the Movers and Shapers set in the new catalog and the new stamp set I won at Convention (gotta make use of that set!). πŸ™‚

Window Card

Window Card

Stamp set: Falling Leaves

Ink: Soft Suede, Dusty Durango

Paper: Kraft, Very Vanilla, Dusty Durango textured, Whisper White

Accessories: Movers & Shapers Curly Label die (for platform), Movers & Shapers Punch Windows, Modern label punch

Here is the inside:

Window card, inside

Window card, inside

The Dusty Durango piece is also cut with the Movers and Shapers die, in case you haven’t noticed. πŸ™‚ It layers nicely with the Modern label punch. You can actually cut both the window in the card base and this layering piece at the same time. I know, I know…. I usually don’t advocate cutting more than one piece at a time because the die cuts don’t seem to look right afterward. BUT, in this case, 1) it saved time, and 2) it created a nice edge to the window.

Here’s a picture to show you what I mean. I usually like the sharp edge to the cuts, but this time, the “beveling” added some character.

Window closeup

Window closeup

Hopefully you can see what I’m talking about! πŸ™‚

Since this card was smaller than a regular A2 card, I made sure the score line for the card lined up with the score line on the die.

One last note about making this card… I thought since all I wanted to do was to cut the window, I didn’t really need the extended cutting pads to run the die through the Big Shot. DON’T DO IT! You need the extended cutting pads. Really. For two reasons.

  1. It seems that the sandwich won’t go into the Big Shot (mine anyway), unless the cutting pad extends slightly over the edge of the die…
  2. Which means the cutting pad doesn’t cover your cardstock completely and you’ll get a CREASE where the edge of the cutting pad goes over your cardstock.
Creased cardstock

Creased cardstock

Yikes! Imagine my surprise when I pulled the cardstock off the die!

Okay, that should have been obvious! Must have been half asleep when I tried that, haha!

Leave a Reply

