August Project

Here’s the project that I included in this month’s newsletter. Can you believe that this newsletter marks one year of starting the blog and sending out a newsletter? (should I have a fun contest? Does anyone actually read these? hahaha!)

Okay, seriously, I hope this doesn’t seem thrown together. I wanted to use some of the new button colors available in the new catalog. As I was staring at them (really!), I happened to pull out a stamp set and realized that it “matches” with one of the designs. Yippee! I then started thinking about different design elements I wanted to play with, and it all sort of came together. I think the whole thing took 1/2 hour.

Fabulous Card

Fabulous Card

Stamp set: Kind & Caring Thoughts (Level 2 hostess), Oval All

Ink: Soft Suede, Crushed Curry, Crushed Curry marker, Bermuda Bay marker

Paper: Soft Suede, Bermuda Bay, Whisper White

Accessories: Scallop Circle Bigz die, Circle Scissors (!), Large oval punch, Playground Designer buttons, Fire Circle rhinestone brads, Stampin’ dimensionals, Mini glue dots

I wanted to do a card with the large scallop circle. Since it doesn’t fit completely, I had it hang off the edge, and I cut off the excess (rather than trying to squeeze it on and letting the extra just dangle off).

To balance the white space, I put the sentiment on a large oval and overlapped it with the circle. I put the yellow rhinestone brad in the center of the button so it doesn’t look so bare. Doesn’t that look cool? Yes, the prongs will fit (just barely), and I put each prong separately into the sentiment oval (i.e., there are two holes).

The final comment: I got the Circle Scissors for my birthday (thanks, Mom!) so I had to use it to create a circle that fits in the center of the scallop circle. I was intimidated, but it works much easier than I thought (I still have to “practice” a bit, though).

Leave a Reply

