Square Friend

Hee hee! I bet everyone had one of these in high school! 🙂

Well, for today’s cards, I went for a square card. The recipe for the focal point is a square, and I didn’t like the look on a rectangular card. So, I went with square! I’m using the set Great Friend again, hence the Square Friend card! 🙂

But first, Stampin’ Up! is doing a Deal of the Week promo for the month of July. From now until Monday morning, the Scallop Edge punch is $10.99 (regularly $15.95). In honor of that, I decided I had to also use my Scallop Edge punch on my card (otherwise, I would have just used a corner rounder).

As you use this punch, don’t forget: you get a cool strip of paper along with your scalloped piece:

Bits from Scallop Edge punch

Bits from Scallop Edge punch

This is a great piece to use on your card! One way to use it is to plan TWO cards in coordinating color schemes, and use the strip from one color with the scalloped strip in the other color. I’ll show you my two cards to illustrate.

Square Great Friend in Curry

Square Great Friend in Curry

Stamp set: Great Friend

Ink: Old Olive, Dusty Durango

Paper: Crushed Curry, Whisper White, Dusty Durango

Accessories: Scallop edge punch, Stampin’ dimensionals, Paper snips

And the second card:

Square Great Friend in Suede

Square Great Friend in Suede

Stamp set: Great Friend

Ink: Old Olive, Dusty Durango

Paper: Soft Suede, Dusty Durango, Crushed Curry, Whisper White

Accessories: Scallop edge punch, Stampin’ dimensionals, Paper snips

And, you get two different looks by doing two different color schemes. But, since they coordinate with each other, you get a small strip to use “free”. You don’t have to worry about cutting this piece (which can be tricky sometimes because it’s so narrow). Plus, by making a pair of cards, you don’t have to worry about storing this small strip “for next time”.

There’s another way you can use this strip, too. I just realized it as I was making this post! So, I’ll have to explore that one for tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

