Clutch Me!

I really liked the little clutch that Melinda gave us for our June meeting swap. So much, that I had to try to make one myself. I don’t have the Box #2 Bigz XL die, so I had to some up with my own base for the purse. Not so bad, since I like building 3D items, anyway! 🙂 And, luckily enough, the dimensions were pretty “normal” (they landed on nice boundaries, not 1/16ths!).

For my version, I thought I’d do something a little different. I thought I’d make a polka-dot bag with a patent leather flap. This reminds me of a co-worker that really loves handbags. I think I’ll have to make one for her. And the cool thing about it: a gift card WILL fit! So, perfect for the shopping addict friend or family member! 🙂

Melon Clutch

Melon Clutch

Stamp set: Polka Dot background (dormant)

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, VersaMark

Paper: Melon Mambo, Basic Black

Accessories: Top Note Bigz die, Clear stampin’ emboss powder, Jumbo eyelet, Basic Black 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Crop-o-dile, Sticky strip, Jumbo grommet, velcro

I wanted the look of patent leather for the flap. To do this, I covered the cardstock with VersaMark ink, then heat embossed with clear embossing powder. How neat is that? Makes it hard to take pictures, though!

Leave a Reply

