Baseball Birthday

I decided to get a jump on making my brother-in-law’s birthday card. This is a first for me! His birthday is not for at least a couple of months. Wow! What happened to the procrastination?

Well, I borrowed the set, Just Baseball, from my sideline, Melinda. I wanted to use it for a Splitcoast swap due next month, and I decided it would work really well to make a birthday card for my b-i-l. So…

I first thought about doing a pop-up card. But then, I did one for him last year… Okay, scratch that.

Then, I thought about using acetate and folds on the inside to pop out the baseballs. I must not have the concept down right, because once I got the inside panels made up, everything was too bulky and the card didn’t close right. Scratch again!

So, instead, I just made cut-outs and layered everything. Keep it simple, right? 🙂

Baseball Birthday Card

Baseball Birthday Card

Stamp set: Just Baseball, Full of Life (inside)

Ink: More Mustard, Basic Black marker, Pumpkin Pie marker, Real Red marker (inside), VersaMark

Paper: Bashful Blue, Whisper White, Glossy White, Tangerine Tango, Summer Picnic DSP (retired)

Accessories: Pumpkin Pie striped grosgrain ribbon, Brads antique, Clear stampin’ emboss powder, 1/2″ circle punch

And here is the inside:

Baseball Birthday Card, inside

Baseball Birthday Card, inside

So, I decided to use team colors on the cap for a team I thought he would like. I picked the SF Giants. 🙂 We know for sure it’s not the A’s.

For the baseball, I did something a little weird, I think. I stamped with VersaMark on either Whisper White or Glossy White, then embossed with clear. After embossing, I punched the baseball out with the 1/2″ circle punch. Then, I added color for the stitching with my Real Red marker, blotting off any excess that’s on the embossing. This way, I get a shiny baseball with a little texture, and it also resists the ink I use to color the stitching! I’ve seen other people emboss with white onto Real Red cardstock. I just wanted to be different. 🙂

I stamped a second cap and put it on the outside of the envelope. Oops, don’t have a picture of that!

Leave a Reply

