Fruit Punch

Ah, the ubiquitous drink from Hawaii… I sure do miss it sometimes. Although, do you really need all that sugar and artifical flavors? 🙂

Today’s post is really about different fruit images I created using punches! A while back, I made a watermelon. Given the bright colors of the new In Colors, I just had to expand the set. I was thinking this would make a cute gift set (or maybe a Card Class or Card Kit anyone?).

Here is the set, all together:

Fruit Collection

Fruit Collection

Now for the individual cards. I’ll try to give a brief description of how I made them. If someone wants a tutorial, please leave a comment!

Grape:

Grape Card

Grape Card

Paper: Melon Mambo, Rich Razzleberry, Whisper White, Perfect Plum

Accessories: 1/2″ circle punch, Linen thread, Soft Suede polka-dot grosgrain ribbon

So, this is the easiest… punch 8 circles with your 1/2″ circle punch. Arrange them in a bunch and presto! A bunch of grapes. I added a twisted piece of Linen thread for the stem, just for texture.

Orange:

Orange Card

Orange Card

Paper: Crushed Curry, Pumpkin Pie, Whisper White, Dusty Durango, Very Vanilla

Accessories: 1-3/4″ circle punch, 1-3/8″ circle punch, Paper snips, Soft Suede polka-dot grosgrain ribbon

This one is also pretty straightforward and easy. I punched Crushed Curry with the 1-3/8″ circle punch. I cut the circle into 6 approximately equal segments. I punched a 1-3/4″ circle from Very Vanilla and arranged the Crushed Curry segments on top. I trimmed about 1/16″ to 1/8″ from the Very Vanilla circle. I punched a 1-3/4″ circle from Dusty Durango, and put the Very Vanilla circle on top.

Apple:

Apple card

Apple card

Paper: Rich Razzleberry, Rose Red, Whisper White, Real Red, Very Vanilla, Basic Black, Old Olive

Accessories: Large oval punch, Small oval punch, Slot punch, Crop-o-dile, Soft Suede polka-dot grosgrain ribbon, Bone folder

This one was a little challenging. I punched a Large oval and a Small oval from scrap paper. I folded the Real Red cardstock and traced most of the Large oval along the fold. Unfold and burnish with a bone folder to remove most of the crease. For the inner section, I folded another piece of scrap paper in half and trace part of the Small oval along the fold. I unfolded it and traced onto Very Vanilla. Cut out and layer. For the stem, I used the Slot punch. For the seeds, we’ll get to that in a bit!

Watermelon (my favorite still!):

Watermelon card

Watermelon card

Paper: Bermuda Bay, Taken with Teal, Whisper White, Garden Green, Melon Mambo, Basic Black

Accessories: 1-3/4″ circle punch, 1-3/8″ circle punch, 1-1/4″ circle punch, Boho blossoms punch, Crop-o-dile, Soft Suede polka-dot grosgrain ribbon

I made rings in Garden Green (using 1-3/4″ circle and 1-3/8″ circle) and Whisper White (using 1-3/8″ circle and 1-1/4″ circle). I punched a 1-1/4″ circle from Melon Mambo. Layered all onto a 1-3/4″ circle punched in Whisper White. Cut in half. For the “bite”, I used the smallest flower of the Boho Blossoms punch. Don’t forget to add some seeds!

Seeds:

This was the trickiest element to make. I basically punched a 3/16″ circle with my Crop-o-dile from Basic Black. I then put this circle onto the sticky part of a Post-It, and punched again, making a tiny football (or seed) shape! So hard to work with tiny pieces of paper, but it sure makes all the difference in building the fruit shape.

Here’s a picture of my sticky note after punching out one of the seeds:

Punching a seed

Punching a seed

So fun!

Leave a Reply

