Stars, Spritzing, and You!

So, I was playing with my stamps again for my upcoming workshop. I used the “Just for You” stamp in the Oval All set. The ones with the stars? Well, it got me thinking that this would be a good set to make gift tags for 4th of July items. (thinking of goodies for the office again…)

So, since I made a sponging card earlier, I thought I’d punch stars in scrap paper and sponge through that. Here’s my first tag:

Sponged Tag

Sponged Tag

Sponged tag, take 2

Sponged tag, take 2

As you can see, the star points may be small enough that it’s hard to get enough ink in there to be really defined. But, I really like how the “Just for You” stamp comes out!

Once I did this, I thought that I could try the same thing, but with the spritzer instead of sponges. Here’s how that turned out:

Tag spritzed with mask

Tag spritzed with mask

Tag spritzed with mask, take 2

Tag spritzed with mask, take 2

So, this one comes out pretty neat, too! I did find that it was hard to conrol where the color goes. I tried to get it to all of the different parts of the star, but sometimes only managed to get it in the same spots! (You can tell by the dark patches…) It was pretty fun, though. My sideline, Melinda, would be proud (hey, I finally bought the thing!)

I then decided to see what it would look like to spritz without the masks (just cover the cardstock with spreckles EVERYWHERE). That should look good, right? And go with the whole patriotic theme? (think fireworks)

Spritzed Tag

Spritzed Tag

Spritzed tag, take 2

Spritzed tag, take 2

These come out pretty neat, too. I varied the technique of how I held my spritzer with respect to my paper. For the top tag, I held the nozzle facing down, toward the paper. For the second tag, I held the nozzle such that it was spraying ACROSS the paper. You can see how the color was applied differently. So, depending upon the look you want, you hold the spritzed differently. So cool!

For all projects, I used:

Stamp set: Oval All (mini)

Ink: Real Red marker, Not Quite Navy maeker

Paper: Real Red, Whisper White

Accessories: Stampin’ Sponges, Color Spritzer, Large star punch, Star punch

When I actually use thse as tags, I think I’ll use the Real Red 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon.

Leave a Reply

