More Summer LOTW

Okay, I’m a sucker for hard luck cases. One of the swaps I already submitted needed extra letters because a few people flaked out on the swap. 😦 So, I was crazy enough to pick up some of the extra letters. Some were inspired, some weren’t.

The first letter is M in Summer. I had already done a beach theme for my previous letter, so I was searching for another theme. I originally thought ice cream, but settled on a Fourth of July theme. Hurray! I got to use up more of my non-Stampin’ Up! stuff. πŸ™‚

M in Summer

M in Summer

The next letter was for the word Sun, the letter S. I had also done one of these, so I tried to make it different. I again went with a sun shape, and some embossing, but decorated differently and used a different font. I made this one a little fancy…

S in Sun

S in Sun

The embossing folder is from Quickutz, called Sunburst, I think. I used the 1-3/4″ circle for the embossed portion, and the bigger circle was cut with my Coluzzle.

The third letter was F in Surf. I was hoping I still had some stamps with a surfing theme (oops, that was donated…). No die cuts for surf, oh what to do? I ended up using a wave theme with a handmade surf board. To create these, I searched Google Images for some simple designs. πŸ™‚ I basically used the Wide oval punch: Punched out one shape, then took pieces off each side using the punch again.

F in Surf

F in Surf

I really like the aqua colors on this one. And isn’t the surfboard so bright?

The fourth letter is for Swimming, the letter M. I dug through my stamp stash, and found this cute one from a Hanna Stamps set called Penguin Antics (guess why I bought it?). I colored the image with Copics and cut it out as the embellishment. The embossing was to add a little bit of texture and to make it look like he’s bumping around in rough water! πŸ™‚

M in Swimming

M in Swimming

The final letter was the most inspired. It was the letter E in Beach (I bet you thought the final word starts with the letter S, huh? I just noticed all of the other words do!)

I have to add that it’s the first extra letter I picked up for the hostess, so it’s what started the whole deal. The fibers on the bottom is some specialty ribbon I picked up at a LSS. I was thinking of using it for a Frontierland LOTW, but it didn’t pan out. The rest of the letter was the usual composition of a scene. The “rocks” are some Dew Drops I added, because you always find sutff in seaweed that’s drying on the shore. Oh, and you will probably notice the sand bucket. It’s from Just Beachy (in the Mini Catalog). I just love that stamp set! I colored it with my Aqua Painters and cut it out.

E in Beach

E in Beach

I’m going to sneak in one more letter to this post. I also have a letter for a Summer Activities LOTW swap. I took the letter I in Picnic.

I had this checkerboard paper for a few years, and thought it would work great as a little picnic blanket. For interest, I used a scallop square Nestabilities to cut out the paper (and see how I cut it with the pattern? Snazzy!)

I in Picnic

I in Picnic

As the accent piece, I wanted to create a watermelon. The seeds come from a Quickutz die cut, but the watermelon was created using punches. I made various rings/circles then mounted the whole thing on white cardstock as a base. Once I had the full circle, I cut it in half for the wedge. Finally, the bite mark was made with the Boho Blossoms punch. Isn’t it fun?

The rind is a ring cut with the 1-3/4″ and 1-3/8″ punch. The white part of the rind uses the 1-3/8″ and 1-1/4″ punch. The juicy part of the watermelon is the 1-1/4″ circle. Interestingly enough, everything should have nested, but I couldn’t quite get all of the layers exactly flat. Not sure why. Sure came out cute, though!

Leave a Reply

