Homework #5: Window Mini Book

First, today I went to my sideline, Melinda’s, house to participate in one of her stamp club classes. (Hi Melinda!) So fun! I like seeing everyone having fun stamping, and talking. It was great that I got to go out on a work day.

Unfortunately, when I left, I couldn’t start my car. 😦 I think I left my lights on (how dumb is THAT?). So, AAA came out and told me that I need to actually change my battery. Didn’t take long, though. They did a great job.

So, now onto more fun stuff! πŸ™‚

Today, we’re still looking at projects using the Stampin’ Up! Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die.

Remember how the first project used a smaller piece of cardstock over the die? Well, today’s project uses a piece of cardstock bigger than 4-1/4″ x 11″.

I took the idea of a window card, and thought I’d use it as a cover for a mini book. And, what’s a mini book without a pocket at the back to hold odds and ends?

First, the mini book:

Cat Mini Book

Cat Mini Book

Stamp set: Happy Everything

Ink: Whisper White Craft

Paper: Basic Gray, Naturals White, Whisper White

Accessories: Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die, 1/16″ circle handheld punch, Linen thread, White stampin’ emboss powder, Billboard Sizzlit Decorative strip

We have so many pictures of Sylvester. This is supposed to be motivation to create a book for my in-laws. You can see the binding on the left. I punched 1/16″ holes along the spine and tied linen thread.

So, what I did was to cut out a 1/4 sheet from a full sheet, and scored the pocket section so I can fold it up.

Cardstock for cover

Cardstock for cover

I placed the cardstock on the die with the pocket side up (outside of card down).

Cardstock on die

Cardstock on die

The folded edge of the pocket is just slightly in from the cutting edge. I hope you can see it in this pic:

Closeup of fold on die

Closeup of fold on die

After the piece went through the Big Shot, I trimmed down edges to make a pocket shape that I liked.

Mini book inside back (pocket)

Mini book inside back (pocket)

Here’s the front page, so you can see the full picture of the cute cat. πŸ™‚

Mini book inside cover

Mini book inside cover

I added pieces of Naturals White slightly smaller than the whole cover. I used 3 pieces (for 6 pages) for now. I thought if I needed more, I can just take apart the binding and add them.

Hopefully I didn’t leave anything out. If I did, let me know and I’ll update. Gotta run to work!

Leave a Reply

