Homework #4: Window Fold-Out Card

Happy Spring! Today is the first day of spring. The weather is kinda nice, but the weather here can change pretty quickly.

Here’s the next project that I came up with using the Stampin’ Up! Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die. This one is my favorite, and my husband really liked it, too!

I die cut a 4-1/4″ x 11″ piece of cardstock, and folded the ends into the inside of the card. The window is approximately centered over the visible outside panel, in the vertical orientation. After construction, the flap on the front cover is glued “closed” and the other flap is left to fold out.

I added a gift card to the inside of the card front, using Dotto. I could have also used the slit punch, but I glued everything down before I thought of it.

Here’s the card:

Double fold window card

Double fold window card

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip marker, Pumpkin Pie marker, Old Olive marker, Uniball signo white gel pen

Paper: Baja Breeze, Whisper White, Washington Apple DSP

Accessories: Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die, Stampin’ dimensionals, Scallop edge punch, Linen thread, Flower assortment designer brads, 1/16″ circle handheld punch

I stamped the branch in two different directions, so it didn’t look like the bird was sitting in an “empty” window. I placed the bird on a dimensional with his tail sticking out of the window, to be different. Sometimes, I like the look of when something extends beyond its frame.

And here is how the card looks when you open it up:

Fold-out card, partially open

Fold-out card, partially open

Fold-out card, open

Fold-out card, open

Oops, the pic is a little blurry, and you can see some stray ink under the bird…

The closure is what I had fun with the most. I picked up my Flower assortment brads. Yippee! That went on the outside as the “anchor”. Then, I put some Linen thread on the fold on the card back as the “string” that loops around the brad. I hid one end under the inner Whisper White panel and added a knot on the loose end.

Here are some closeups:

Fold-out card closure

Fold-out card closure

Fold-out card closure string, out of fold

Fold-out card closure string, out of fold

Fold-out closure string, hidden end

Fold-out closure string, hidden end

So, go out and play! Anyone got other ideas for this die? If I think of anything else, I’ll post it here.

I’ll try to add these projects to the Big Shot page, eventually. In the meantime, you can always search for these posts by going to the Tag Cloud on the right hand side of the page and clicking on “big shot”. I usually tag the Big Shot related projects with the “big shot” tag. I also tag my projects with the stamp set used.

Leave a Reply

