Homework #1: Window Box

No, not the type of box that goes outside a window of your house. This would be a trinket box or a box for mini cards that happens to have a window on the lid. I’ve wanted to make one of these for a while using the Curly Label (handheld) punch. However, it wasn’t really possible to center the punch on a 3-1/2″ square cover. Unless you did something really weird, which my husband didn’t like (no, you can’t see it!).

So, I thought this would be a good first project for the Stampin’ Up! Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die (say that three times fast!).

I was going to use the thin chipboard that comes with DSP packs as a base. But, since I wanted to cover the inside and outside anyway, I thought one of the cardstocks would do fine. I ran both pieces of DSP at the same time and ran the cardstock base separately. But, I realized I should have glued them together first, then run everything through once. That way, you can get a nice edge on the window and not worry about aligning everything while gluing.

I created the sides of the box using one long strip of cardstock, covered by DSP. I only covered one side, but realized afterward that I should have covered both side. You can see some of the cardstock on the inside of the box. Oh well, another lesson learned.

So, here’s the box:

Window Box

Window Box

(Aside: hey, Mom, I used one of those photography techniques from last year in this picture. The right hand side was really dark, so I grabbed a light reflective item to bounce light back into the shadows. Heh, in this case, the light reflective item was a binder from an Ali Edwards class.)

Okay, here’s the box opened:

Window Box Open

Window Box Open

You can sort of see the base cardstock on the left.

So, this was a pretty fun project. I also got to use some new accessories that I haven’t put to good use yet. Here are a couple more closeups:

Window Box Closure

Window Box Closure

Window Closeup

Window Closeup

Supply details:

Paper: Naturals Ivory cardstock, Washington Apple DSP

Accessories: Movers and Shapers Curly Label Bigz XL die, Flower assortment designer brads, Whisper White taffeta ribbon, Pretties kit (bead), Tombow mono multi, Anywhere glue stick

Construction details:

  • Base of box: 4″ x 9-1/4″. Place edge of cardstock and/or DSP flush with cutting edge of solid piece of die. The section in the “movable” area should be 4″ x 3-3/4″. The movable shape is centered under the cardstock in this area.
  • Sides of box: 2-1/16″ x 11″ strip of cardstock; 1-11/16″ x 11″ strip of DSP for outside, 2-1/16″ x 11″ strip of DSP for inside.
  • Glue DSP to box base on outside and inside with Anywhere glue stick (preferably before die cutting). Score 3-3/4″ from edge opposite the window (to create a score line parallel to the one made by the die).
  • Glue DSP pieces to side strip: outer DSP is flush with top of strip. Along long edge, score at: 1/4″, 3-3/4″, 7-1/4″, 10-3/4″. Along the “bottom”, score at 1/4″.
  • The 1/4″ x 1-11/16″ tabs on the side strip will be adhered to the outside, and the other tabs will be adhered to the inside of the box (notch as needed). I used Tombow, since Sticky strip may be a tad too wide.
  • I put a length of ribbon between the bottom of the box and the front-side piece. You could also adhere the loose end of the ribbon under the box.

If you would like a picture tutorial, let me know. I know this may not be really clear without pictures. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

