DIY Funky Trees

Okay, I’m NOT advocating that you DON’T buy the Funky Trees stamp set if you really like it. Today’s project is a way to make “funky” trees a different way. A supplement, if you like. 🙂 In fact, I did buy Funky Forest (the matching wheel). I plan to eventually get the stamp set, but I wanted to play with the wheel first. (And have I inked it up yet? Um, ah…)

So, these trees were inspired by stuff lying on my desk (again). I had just made prototypes for tonight’s swap (so glad I can go to this month’s meeting!). I had some reject items and scraps lying on my desk, and they happened to be in such a way that inspired the trees.

Faux Funky Trees

Faux Funky Trees

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Old Olive, Old Olive marker

Paper: Barely Banana, Very Vanilla, Old Olive, Kiwi Kiss textured, Good Morning Sunshine DSP, Bella Rose DSP, Urban Oasis DSP

Accessories: Birds and Blooms sizzlits set, Stampin’ dimensionals, Dotted Lines jumbo wheel

I have a little birdie singing in the trees, but you can’t really see him. (Oh, and if you noticed, yes, I had to “fix” the sentiment; the bottom was missing from the right hand side…)

I added a little bit of grass to the bottom with my Old Olive marker, so it’s not so bare. Hmm, I think it needs more…

The tree trunks are actually scraps from cutting a scallop envelope! I like the different angles, and how you can turn a scallop circle into a tree top.

I masked the inside of the Old Olive piece and wheeled Dotted Lines at different angles. Funny how I seemed to pick the same couple of angles!

Since the Kiwi Kiss piece is textured, I decided to use a paper from Urban Oasis DSP that had the houndstooth pattern. That way, each tree had some sort of pattern or texture to it. 🙂

You could easily use a circle punch to also make a tree, or even free hand cut an oval or rounded triangle shape. Try it and have fun!

Leave a Reply

