A Treat Purse

This project is from this week’s Technique Challenge on Splitcoast. The thread with instructions can be found here.

I thought this would be a good project to use Good Morning Sunshine. It’s a cheery paper (ain’t it?), so makes a cheerful gift. Plus, spring is almost here, although you couldn’t tell by the weather the past few days. I’ve been finding a thin layer of ice crystals on my car in the morning after work. Luckily, it’s only on the roof of my car and not my windshield. (Aside: when that happens, I learned that I need to sit there and defrost my windshield BEFORE starting to drive home. Don’t ask.)

But, I suppose, I shouldn’t complain. People on Splitcoast are still talking about below freezing weather. Ugh. Not for me.

Oh, one more item of babble before moving on. The setting moon the past few mornings have been AWESOME. Unfortunately, I was not able to take any pictures. It’s the full moon, and the horizon was clear. Hey, is there one word to describe the setting moon, kind of like the word “sunset”? Anyone? 🙂

Okay, for the project.

Treat Purse

Treat Purse

Stamp set: Yummy

Ink: Chocolate Chip marker, Old Olive marker

Paper: Barely Banana, Old Olive, Pacific Point, Bashful Blue

Accessories: Old Olive 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon, Trio flower punch, Vintage brads, Wide oval punch, Crop-o-dile, Sticky strip

And here is the inside:

Treat purse, open

Treat purse, open

Pretty cute, huh? I swear I followed the directions, but my dimensions look different from the samples. Hmm.

So, I changed a few things, well, because. First, she used cardstock for the handles. I used ribbon (seems nicer). Second, I don’t like raw edges of ribbon showing, so I added additional cardstock (1″) at the top edges and folded them over. The horizontal slot punch didn’t reach to the score line, so I used the Crop-o-dile to punch a line of holes (kind of like we did at Convention). When the cardstock is folded over, the” slot” should be on the inside. I put the ribbon through the “slot” then secured with Sticky Strip.

Here are some closeups of the handles.

Closeup 1

Closeup 1

Closeup 2

Closeup 2

I took the pictures with a small cello bag with Easter M&M’s (yum, DARK chocolate peanut). But, when I showed this to my husband, I put in a tin of Altoids instead (he wanted a new one). 🙂

One last comment: because of the cardstock and DSP panel on the part that flips down, it doesn’t stay closed very well. I think the sample on Splitcoast has the handle tucked behind the cello bag top to hold it closed. I am guessing the original person who made it also propped the handles closed somehow. I used Dotto to hold it closed, but it doesn’t work well. In fact, right as I took the last picture above, the front fell open. Sigh. Maybe I’ll try one of those removable Glue Dots.

Okay, that wasn’t the last comment. This is: A gift card will fit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

