Another Mini Book

The idea for today’s project has been rolling around in my head for a while. Since I did a mini book yesterday, I was motivated to get this one done finally. 🙂

The idea was jumpstarted by a project we did at Convention (see how long I’ve been thinking about this one?). We had put two mini square envelopes together for the “covers” of the album with cardstock inside. I didn’t really like the way that opens up, so …

I decided, I can start with a small open-end envelope instead. In fact, I’ve seen projects elsewhere that fold up policy envelopes for cool tea/gift card holders. I kind of wish we had those. Well, maybe I’ll make one up later for you to see.

I folded the envelope in half as the “cover”. The flap is the closure, and I used some dimensional items to hold it closed. Inside, I put pieces of DSP, folded in half, for the “pages”.

Envelope Mini Book

Envelope Mini Book

Stamp set: none

Ink: Basic Black marker

Paper: Delicate Dots DSP (SAB), Pretty in Pink, Riding Hood Red, Bashful Blue, Whisper White

Accessories: Small open-end envelope, Trio flower punch, Round tab punch, 1/16″ circle handheld punch, Vintage brads, Soft subtles brads, Linen thread, Stampin’ dimensionals

Here are some of the inside pages:

Inside view 1

Inside view 1

Inside view 2

Inside view 2

You can see the linen thread I used to hold the whole thing together. I thought the mini book opens better with this kind of binding. Here is a closeup of the outside:

Binding

Binding

Here is a closeup of the flower I used to hold the flap closed. Some of the flowers are raised with dimensionals, and the flap tucks under these flowers.

Closeup of front

Closeup of front

And finally, since this is an envelope after all, I made use of the pocket that is still available in the back. I added an insert, but you could put a picture here. I added a tab, so you could easily pull out the insert.

Insert

Insert

This version is not big enough for a gift card. I folded the envelope in half and a gift card needs just a little bit more space. See the Gift Card holders page to see that project.

Leave a Reply

