Yay, It Fits!

I was playing around with the Bag with Scallops die a bit (remember yesterday’s post?). I was considering a project that didn’t use the side pieces. As I was measuring to cut layering pieces for the inside and outside, I realized…

A GIFT CARD WILL FIT!

Wow! I was almost giving up that the different Big Shot dies would fit a gift card (such as the scallop envelope, petal card, scallop circle, pillow box, box #2…). Okay, now there’s MORE potential for die cuts with this die!

So, after I finished my happy dance, I pulled items together to make today’s project.

Again, this project does NOT use the side pieces.

Scallop Bag Card holder

Scallop Bag Card holder

Stamp set: Yummy (SAB)

Ink: Old Olive marker

Paper: Certainly Celery, Bashful Blue, Pink Pirouette, Riding Hood Red, Delicate Dots DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Bag with Scallops Bigz XL die, Birds and Blooms sizzlit set, Buttons #5 sizzlit, Heart to heart punch, 5/16″ jumbo brad

I added the layer of small flower, small button, and brad combo to hold the top flap closed. I poked the brad through the front after I put the front DSP piece down, but before I put the inside piece down. That way, I can hide the prongs of the brad.

I scored halfway between the two middle score lines so the middle would pop up a bit. It wasn’t necessary (I was originally going to do something else), but I like it because it gives dimension.

Card holder - open

Card holder - open

I thought the hearts would add some extra details to make the inside interesting. I put a little bit of Dotto on the back of the gift card to hold it in place (I suppose you could also find some of those removable Glue Dots). If you want to add a message to your recipient, you could put a piece of Whisper White cardstock on the front portion.

Here is a view of the holder closed, from the side. You can see how it stands up by itself, and the hearts are waiting to be seen. I originally used a heart from the Hearts sizzlits set, but it was too big and kept getting smashed when the whole thing was closed. (Now do you see why it was a reject on my desk for yesterday’s post? hahaha!)

Side view

Side view

When I get a chance, I’ll put this on the gift card holder page.

Leave a Reply

