Layering for Scallop Bag

My mom recently asked me about layering options for the Bag with Scallops. Do we have anything that will layer on the scalloped top? I thought other people may be wondering, so I thought I’d post some of my findings here. I don’t have all punches or dies; this is based on what I have. There are also other options to try with non Stampin’ Up! stuff. I did NOT include those.

As a refresher, the bag front is approximately 2-1/4″ x 3-3/4″. The top is 2-1/4″ x (not quite) 1-5/8″. I tried to use somewhat contrasting colors to show how each option would look. So, don’t be surprised by the color combinations! I also left each piece whole, to let you decide if you want the overhang, or to cut off the extra.

My first thought was to use the smaller circle from the Scallop Circle #2 Bigz die. It’s just smaller than 2″ in diameter. It has a different number of scallops, but it was worth a shot:

Scallop circle #2, small

Scallop circle #2, small

So, the scallops do not line up, but it’s not bad…

The second thought was the scallop circle punch. It’s smaller, and again the number of scallops are different. But, you never know:

Scallop circle punch

Scallop circle punch

So, again, the scallops do not line up, but seems like a decent choice.

The next option I tried was the 1-3/4″ circle punch. No scallops, so nothing to line up (if that bothers you). I think this was used in a catalog sample, so I was pretty sure this would look okay:

1-3/4" circle punch

1-3/4" circle punch

So, pretty good, huh? (hey, and don’t forget yesterday’s post, to add “hello there” around the circumference of the circle!)

Next, I was trying to think outside of the box (heh). What about different shapes? So, I tried the wide oval punch next, since the top of the bag is not a half circle, more like 2/3 of one.

Wide oval punch

Wide oval punch

Yech. Okay, the color combo here is gross… but, hmm… Not the best. But, it makes me think I should try out the scallop oval punch if/when I get it…

And the final shape I tried was more because it was sitting on my desk as a reject from another project. I used one of the hearts from the Hearts sizzlits set.

Heart sizzlit

Heart sizzlit

Oh, I think this is a pretty good option. See, you don’t have to worry about lining anything up. It’s decoration, really. And, adds character. I may have to use this for something later…

So, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

