Cheep Fun

I was playing around a bit with the stamp set, Cheep Talk, and had a few little things I’d like to share. Aside: I really like the smaller birdie in this set! He’s so adorable. The other one is cute, too, but he has his mouth open, and well… πŸ™‚

So the first thing I have, is the little guy with one of the sentiments in the set. I wanted to make 3×3 thank you notecards (I’ll show you the finished project later). But, the “a special note of thanks” was just a bit too long, if I included all of the bird. I didn’t want to cut off his cute tail, you see. So, I took out my Stamp-a-ma-jig to shorten the phrase to “a note of thanks”. No straight stamping needed this time, just lined up with each other. πŸ™‚

A short thanks

A short thanks

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Baja Breeze, Chocolate Chip, Chocolate Chip marker, Pumpkin Pie marker, Uniball signo white gel pen

Paper: Whisper White

Accessories: Stamp-a-ma-jig

See? Fits perfectly.

The second little experiment I want to show you is the use of the sentiment “hello there”. I know the sentiments were meant to be the birdies “talking”. But, this particular phrase is curved in just one direction. So, I thought it would be perfect to stamp along the edge of a circle. Out comes the Stamp-a-ma-jig again! πŸ™‚

Hello circle

Hello circle

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Chocolate Chip

Paper: Whisper White

Accessories: Stamp-a-ma-jig, 1-3/4″ circle punch

Wow, it worked out better than I expected! If you stamp fairly close to the edge, you can get the phrase on there 5 times, evenly spaced. And, the little guy will actually fit in the center of the circle (but I didn’t show that here).

The final project is a card that was inspired by a project I saw on Julie Ebersole’s blog (JulieHRR on Splitcoast). She used a different stamp set, but I used the same idea with Cheep Talk. I think her flower stamp was smaller, too, but I think it came out okay here.

Cheep Flower

Cheep Flower

Stamp set: Cheep Talk

Ink: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Rose Red, Old Olive, Chocolate Chip, Old Olive marker

Paper: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Whisper White

Accessories: Scallop circle punch, Old Olive 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon

Isn’t it neat? It almost looks like a hydrangea… You use the scallop circle as a stencil and stamp away inside with different colors. I found that it works better if you stamp fairly close together. I was debating about putting Dazzling Diamonds in the center of each little flower, but decided against it (this time).

For the leaves, I stamped the cluster of leaves from the branch (at the end), and the one next, without the branch. Then, I inked up the last leaf cluster and stamped approximately where it would be in-line with the rest of the leaves. I drew in the stem by hand with the Old Olive marker. I think it came out pretty well. In fact, I was thinking that these leaves would work well for a sunflower….

Leave a Reply

