March Project

First, Happy Girl’s Day (Hina Matsuri)!

Here’s the card I made for this month’s project (I sent a picture of this in my monthly newsletter). I decided to stick with SAB products, since we’re only halfway through! I know I’m a little late… I had started it before I left for my trip, but once I left, I realized that the card needed something extra, and the stamp set I wanted was at home. Oh well…

I primarily used Polka Dot Punches for this card. I know this set coordinates with 4 of our punches. I wanted to use the stamp with the punches, but with a twist. The other stamp sets I used were to finish up the little scene I was trying to create.

Polka Dot Flower

Polka Dot Flower

Stamp set: Polka Dot Punches (SAB), Fifth Avenue Floral, Just B

Ink: Regal Rose, Pretty in Pink, Old Olive, Staz-on Jet Black

Pape: Bashful Blue, Whisper White, Summer Sun, Delicate Dots DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Scallop circle punch, 5-petal flower punch, Scallop edge punch, Eyelet border punch, Stampin’ sponges, Stampin’ dimensionals

So, instead of creating a flower by punching out the scribbled flower image, I decided to use the punch-out as a stencil to sponge some color over the stamped image. For the 5-petal flower punch, I used part of the whole punch to make leaves for my flower. I didn’t ink the middle circles, because I didn’t want them. Turns out, I didn’t need to get rid of the ink from the middle, because that area ended up being hidden.

I added the stem from Fifth Avenue Floral, but I could have just as easily drawn in a stem with a marker.

I added the little bee on the left because I felt that space was too empty. I chose this bee (as opposed to the bee in Flores Suaves) because the style matched better. I suppose I could have also used a butterfly from Flight of the Butterfly, but I thought the scale of the bee was a little better.

If you are super observant, you may notice that the little dots behind the bee is actually curving in the opposite direction from the stamp. I wanted the bee to look like he was flying from the bottom to the top, with him facing the flower. So, I stamped just the dots, then placed him where he needed to be.

To finish off the card, I stamped the smaller flower image (that fits in a circle punch) on Regal Rose cardstock, then cut out the flower. I added the flower to the lower right hand corner of the inside of the card. My husband always checks the inside of a card. 🙂

Leave a Reply

