Fifth Avenue Cut-out

Another card inspired by this week’s technique challenge at Splitcoast (to “cut it out”) is today’s card. I thought it would be cool to have one of the flower images from Fifth Avenue Floral as a partial cutout and as a “corner” to a layered piece.

After I saw the card sketch for this week, I knew how I wanted to make the card.

Card Sketch SC215

Card Sketch SC215

So, here is the card.

Fifth Avenue cut-out

Fifth Avenue cut-out

Stamp set: Fifth Avenue Floral

Ink: Not Quite Navy, Baja Breeze

Paper: Kraft, Naturals Ivory, Not Quite Navy, Basic Gray, Urban Garden DSP

Accessories: Craft blade (non-Stampin’ Up!), Blender pen, Two-way glue pen, Dazzling diamonds, Kraft taffeta ribbon, Mini glue dots

I wanted to get that neat watercolor look to the stamped image (like a sample I saw somewhere, just can’t remember where), but I need to practice more.

I used a craft blade (hobby blade) to cut part of the flower image away from the cardstock. I realized after that it could have been simpler to cut (straight) in the general area with the hobby blade, then trim the image close with paper snips. After all, the part of the cardstock under the flower is hidden by the top layer.

Here is a closeup of the top layer, so you can see how the cut-out adds dimension. Added Dazzling diamonds for a little bit of sparkle.

Closeup

Closeup

You know, I always have trouble stamping (and mounting) sentiments straight. I think it’s the myopia; I swear the distorted vision goes way back to at least high school. Anyway, so as usual, the test stamp on scratch came out straight, but not the first “real” stamp. Which made me think of a slight variation on the sentiment. I wasn’t crazy about it, at first, but I think it’s much funnier with my revision.

New motto?

New motto?

What do you think? Should that be my new motto? I think it goes great with the corollary “There’s always two sides to a piece of cardstock.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

