Gift Card Holder Card

Can you tell I’m on a gift card holder kick? 🙂

I saw this one in a technique challenge on Splitcoast. This is really a variation of a holder I’ve done before. Essentially, you attach the holder to a piece of cardstock to make it more like a card. That, and the gift card is held in the other direction (you can read it when you open it).

Holder with Bashful Blue

Holder with Bashful Blue

Holder with Old Olive

Holder with Old Olive

And open:

Holder (open)

Holder (open)

Stamp set: Tart & Tangy, Sock Monkey (sentiment)

Ink: Riding Hood Red, Old Olive marker

Paper: Bashful Blue or Old Olive base, Old Olive, Whisper White, Summer Picnic DSP (retiring)

Accessories: 1-3/8″ circle punch, 1-1/4″ circle punch, Word window punch, Sticky strip

I propped the flap (holding the gift card) up, so you can see it. Otherwise, it would have been flat against the back without much contrast.

I couldn’t decide on which color to use for the base, so I made one of each in the colors I thought would look nice. 🙂

I’m kind of sad that this DSP will be going away. I like the cherries and apples, and the fact that it matches the Tart & Tangy set. In the new catalog, there is a new DSP set that has cherries, but it doesn’t match it exactly (at least, on first glance). It was a nice set for both adults and kids. Oh well.

I’ll put this one on the page for gift card holders.

And, maybe you are still curious at how the “catalog binding project” went. Well. It’s a little scary, because you literally pull the whole thing apart. Start with the cover (yank). Then grab pages in sections (yank). The glue along the spine keeps the pages together. Make sure to keep everything in order! When you get to the end, you will have to pull off the strip of glue that was holding everything together (and the paper over the glue, if it’s still there; mine was on the front cover).

Next, you trim all the glue off the pages. I made the pages 8-3/8″ wide (some people say 8-1/2″, some say 8-1/4″). Unless you have the bind-it-all spacer bar (so you can punch closer to the paper edge), I would recommend bigger than 8-1/4″ so you don’t punch any pictures. (The front cover I made 8-5/16″ to account for the scallops.)

Then, bind! Easy, right? Don’t forget to use a binder clip to hold your pages together when you punch holes. That’s the part that took FOREVER.

Whatcha think? I can’t get the crimping of the wires right, yet. But, it works!

Spiral bound catalog

Spiral bound catalog

If you’d like help or want to borrow my bind-it-all, let me know! The wire costs <$1 (I have more).

Leave a Reply

