Some Early Valentine’s Cards

I’ve been playing with my Valentine’s Day sets. Since I’ve gotten a lot of use out of the Love You Much set, I thought I’d start working more with the other sets.

The set, A Happy Heart, has a few different images that let you mix things up a bit. It can be found in the Holiday Mini catalog.

First, I wanted to do a variation of a gate fold card. I can’t find the exact name for it. It’s a kind of card that has the front flap folded out in half back over itself, with a focal image on top of the fold. Here’s the pic so you can see what I mean.

Folded Happy Heart

Folded Happy Heart

And here it is opened up:

Unfolded Happy Heart

Unfolded Happy Heart

Stamp set: A Happy Heart

Ink: Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip

Paper: Close to Cocoa, Whisper White, Pink Pirouette, Candy Lane DSP

Accessories: Scallop edge punch, Paper snips, Stampin’ dimensionals

I inked the “i {heart} u” stamp in Riding Hood Red first, then wiped the “i” and “u” clean with a baby wipe before carefully inking with Chocolate Chip. I may need to add something later to keep the card closed. The folds are a little springy. To take the picture of the front, I actually had to use a couple of dabs of removable adhesive. Heh. 🙂

I tried another card, using the old standby, the Joy Fold card.

Joy Fold Happy Heart

Joy Fold Happy Heart

Stamp set: A Happy Heart

Ink: Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip

Paper: Close to Cocoa, Whisper White, Candy Lane DSP

Accessories: 1/2″ circle punch, Paper snips, Stampin’ Dimensionals

Tee, hee. My husband saw the “Feb. 14”, so he said “Oh, this must be a Valentine’s Day card!” Isn’t he sweet? But, did you notice the hearts “won” the tic-tac-toe? 🙂

Leave a Reply

