A CASEd Spring Card

When I saw a similar card on Splitcoast, I knew I wanted to try this. I don’t get as much mileage out of the branch in the Eastern Blooms set as I’d like. This was a nice idea to kind of spice it up.

Branch with Punched Flowers

Branch with Punched Flowers

Stamp set: Eastern Blooms

Ink: Chocolate Chip

Paper: Pretty in Pink, Regal Rose, Old Olive, So Saffron, Whisper White, Georgia Peach DSP, Haiku DSP

Accessories: Scallop edge punch, Trio flowers punch, 1/4″ circle punch, Tombow Mono Multi

I made two versions of the same card (the flowers vary slightly).

I started with the color palette of Georgia Peach, since I thought it has nice, soft spring colors. Then, as I was trying to put the punched flowers with the branch image, I thought the centers needed something extra. Brads would have been a bit bulky (I would be tempted to adhere with dimensionals and worry that the “legs” of the brads would show; besides, not as friendly for mailing). I punched cardstock in different colors, but that didn’t look “wow” enough. Then, I happened to spy a stray piece of Haiku DSP on my desk (how did THAT get there? haha!). The patterns were small enough to fit in the 1/4″ circle, and mostly fit with the color scheme. Whatcha think?

And, wouldn’t you know, I made this before the retiring accessories list came out and the papers are on the list. 😦 And the small punch. 😦 Well, at least I can use the color combinations again.

I thought the strip of Georgia Peach DSP was the right one to use as well. The flower pattern mimicked the smaller flowers, but on a larger scale. The stripes in the paper also gives it some movement. I added the Old Olive stripe under the scallops just so that the scallops were more visible. I didn’t like the straight edge there, but the scallops by themselves didn’t pop out at you as much against the Pretty in Pink.

I suppose the only thing missing would be some kind of zen (i.e., one word) sentiment under the branch. But then, I think it looks okay as-is.

Leave a Reply

