Handmade Holiday Items

At long last, the promised post. All of these are relatively simple to make. So, don’t be afraid to add a small handmade touch to your holidays this year! 🙂 Handcrafted doesn’t just apply to cards.

If you need instructions and/or dimensions for any of these, let me know. I’ll try to post them later (I’ll be taking a break for a few days).

First, tags are quite simple to make. From one sheet of 8-1/2 x 11 cardstock, plus extra for the accent strips, you can make 16 of these tags. Don’t forget the elastic cord for easy attachment to your gift or gift bag.

Gift Tag

Gift Tag

Another easy item is a place card. I used a flower stamp, using holiday-ish colors, but you can use a holiday image. The snow blossom or 5-petal flower punches would be good for this too. I used Itty Bitty Backgrounds and Whisper White craft ink to add “snow” as the background. You can even use these as gift tags; just punch a hole and add ribbon or elastic cord.

Place card

Place card

Another quick item are notecards you can use as gifts. Stamp and emboss a bunch of these, bundle with envelopes, and you’ve got an instant gift! 🙂

This one is black embossing on Whisper White.

Black on White notecards

Black on White notecards

I used gold embossing powder on Naturals Ivory cardstock for this set.

Gold on Natural notecard

Gold on Natural notecard

For both sets, I used VersaMark ink and the Frames with a Flourish stamp set (I finally used this set! What else do I have languishing in my stash???)

Another quick gift is a post-it note pad holder. Really. I added a piece of Ski Slope DSP and stamped with the Bold Snowflakes wheel on the inside. The holder is held closed with elastic cord that loops around a bead from the Pretties Kit.

Memo pad closed

Memo pad closed

Memo pad open

Memo pad open

One last thing I have to show you is something I prototyped to gift little goodies to the office. I usually give them a Big Island Candies dipped shortbread (best brand, IMHO, and only available at their ONE store or online). And I include a bag of tea or a piece of candy. So, I created this little folder. It can be easily used to give a gift card. It is held closed with elastic cord (as you can imagine, it’s a bit lumpy). The base is Close to Cocoa and I embellished with Frosty Days DSP and Bashful Blue cardstock.

Treat Holder closed

Treat Holder closed

Treat Holder half open

Treat Holder half open

Treat Holder open

Treat Holder open

Oops, did I forget to add a holiday sentiment on the inside?

There are also templates out there for other types of gift card holders. Hope your holiday preparations are going well! Have fun creating!

Leave a Reply

