Happy Birthday, Stampin’ Up!

I’ve been meaning to make a card like this for a while now (at least a couple of months). Since Stampin’ Up! has its birthday celebration this month (see flyer here), I thought now would be a good time to get it done.

I have a whole bunch of Top Notes cut out of Whisper White that I didn’t use for a workshop. Kind of nice to reach into a bag for a new piece, instead of running a piece of cardstock through the Big Shot each time I need one. Heh. So, that’s what I used to place my design. And what to use for the patterned paper. Why, Sweet Always, of course! This DSP pack reminds me of ice cream and candy, I swear.

So, here’s the card.

Sweet Always Birthday

Sweet Always Birthday

Stamp set: Upsy Daisy

Ink: Regal Rose, Tangerine Tango (for bottom of flame)

Paper: Regal Rose, Whisper White, Pacific Point, Gable Green, Riding Hood Red, Chocolate Chip, Very Vanilla, Tangerine Tango, So Saffron, Sweet Always DSP

Accessories: Top Note Bigz die, Scallop Circle Bigz die, Paper crimper, Scallop circle punch, Wide oval punch, Horizontal slot punch, Uni-ball Signo white gel pen, Chocolate chip 5/8″ grosgrain ribbon.

Now do you see why it took a while to go from concept to card?

For the cupcake bottom: cut a trapezoid and run through the paper crimper. I think I started with a 3-1/2″ piece (longest edge).

For the sprinkles: punch scraps with horizontal slot punch

For the cupcake top: Die cut a scallop circle with the Scallop Circle Bigz die. Insert the large die cut into the scallop circle punch. You will want 4 scallops from the big die cut and 7 scallops from the handheld punch. I lined up one of the larger scallops within a scallop in the handheld punch in order to get even looking lobes all around. (side note: I made a smaller one using the scallop circle punch and the scallop square punch. more on that in a later post)

For the candle: I cut a rectangle then drew stripes with my white gel pen.

For the flame: I cut off a scallop of a scallop circle and sponged some Tangerine Tango on the curved edge

Ribbon tie: a bit of trivia for you. The slots for tying the ribbon are going HORIZONTALLY. For some reason, if I made the slots the other way, the ribbon went the other direction. Go figure. Just the quirks of knots, I guess! I can post a comparison pic later (I lost my natural lighting for pictures, darn the change in seasons! If you haven’t noticed, I prefer natural lighting over flash.)

Wasn’t that fun?

Oh, and today is World Card Making Day. What did you do? I’ll post mine tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

