Inspiration for Sunday

Today IS Sunday, right? Man, with the night schedule, I really lose track of time. It gets really confusing when you use the words “today”, “yesterday”, and “tomorrow’ in your conversations with day shift people. You know, when you arrive in the night and leave in the morning? (here’s to a quiet night, tonight. I’m probably jinxing it).

Anyway, I was able to whip up a quick card before jetting off to work this evening. Inspiration came from two places. I’ve been wanting to incorporate at least one element from this scrapbook page we made at Convention. (Okay, so I really should have put in a picture first!)

Project as inspiration

Project as inspiration

I also had some scrap papers lying around and I really liked the color combinations. Okay, I have to admit, they are part of the Maine Blueberry DSP matching colors, which is why they were on my cutting table. However, I wasn’t planning on using any DSP; I just wanted to color block my card.

Inspiration materials

Inspiration materials

I had been working with In Colors more recently, so using colors from the regular color families was a nice change.

The other inspiration was the idea of making sunflowers out of the Stampin’ Up! scallop circle punch. I saw someone put the punched flower back into the punch with a slight turn, and I really liked the look for the sunflower.

Sunflower punch out

Sunflower punch out

I’ll make a page later that has details on how to do this.

So, anyway, here’s the first pass.

Attempt 1 at Sunflower

Attempt 1 at Sunflower

I thought it looked just a little drab. So I grabbed some scrap paper and the trio flower punch and added a few more flowers to the card.

Sunflower card

Sunflower card

I think it looks a tad better, but I feel like there’s something missing on the Kraft panel. Oh well.

Stamp set: Flight of the Butterfly

Ink: Old Olive

Paper: Old Olive, Bashful Blue, Not Quite Navy, Kraft

Accessories: Punch Scallop Circle, Punch 1-3/8″ circle, Punch Trio flower, Old Olvie 1/4″ grosgrain ribbon

Leave a Reply

