Welcome!

I just came back from the Stampin’ Up! Convention, and I’m on a mission. Part of that mission is to start this blog. So here goes!

First, I want to talk about how excited I was to attend. This was my first convention, so I did not know what to expect. It turned out to be lots of fun! When we checked in, we got the new catalog (a week before it’s officially released), as well as three of the new stamps from the catalog. The stamp sets were of three different styles, but I liked them ALL! (And how easy were they to mount? Any new stamp sets will now be die-cut. Yeah!) We used them in the two different make and take classes that were offered–lots of cool ideas there! Of course, we stayed up on check-in night to flip through the catalog, even though we were so tired!

There was a general session each day, along with classes. The classes were geared toward making our Stampin’ Up! business successful, and only we can define what we think is successful. The general sessions were informative — showing us previews of new items, as well as demonstrations of products — and also a lot of fun. Imagine winning more stamp sets! That what happened. Each person was assigned a wrist band color. If they called your color, you won that prize. I got a great stamp set that way. Woo hoo! I apparently jumped out of my chair and started waving my arms. I was that excited! The Stampin’ Up! employees were also a lot of fun when they were demonstrating products.

At the close of the convention, they wowed us all — EVERYONE got another free stamp set! This set is extra special, because for every one of that stamp set is sold, $2 will be donated to the Ronald McDonald House Charities. The stamp set was donated to attendees by UPS, who gets a lot of business from us.

So, the biggest thing I took away from this is that I need to make some goals. Without goals, all I have are unrealized dreams. Even hobbyists need goals (and it’s not “just a hobbyist” or Shelli will give me an earful). I’ll list them here, so you can keep me honest…

When I joined Stampin’ Up! as an Independent Demonstrator, one of the reasons was to meet more people who shared the passion and fun of stamping and papercrafting. So, my first goal is to meet at least 1 new person each quarter that shares that love.

Next, I need to document what I do and keep in touch with others on a more consistent basis. So, I will be creating a monthly newsletter that talks about what’s going on in the Stampin’ Up! world and me, as well as a quick project that everyone can make. Along the same lines, I want to create a blog so that I can post more fun projects as they happen, as well as quick updates or even some glimpse into the “play” that goes into stamping.

The final goal? To go back to Convention next year! Hopefully as a wiser business person. Will I be one of the Rising Stars? Probably not, but setting these goals will help.

Leave a Reply

